## HOUSE RESEARCH

## Bill Summary

**FILE NUMBER:** H.F. 1359 **DATE:** March 24, 2015

**Version:** As introduced

**Authors:** Anzelc

**Subject:** Counties; overseer of roads and assessors in unorganized territories

**Analyst:** Deborah A. Dyson

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd/.

This bill repeals the statute that requires a county to divide the unorganized territory in the county into one or more assessment and road districts and appoint a qualified person residing in the district to be an assessor and another person to be an overseer of roads. The persons appointed are given the powers of a town assessor and town overseer of roads, respectively, and hold office for one year. Persons appointed are compensated at \$4 per day for the overseer of roads and \$6 per day for the assessor, but not less than \$75 per year or more than \$400 per year.

The following 16 counties have unorganized territories: Aitkin, Beltrami, Carlton, Cass, Clearwater, Cook, Crow Wing, Hennepin (Fort Snelling), Itasca, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Roseau, and St. Louis.