HOUSE RESEARCH

Bill Summary

FILE NUMBER: H.F. 1427 **DATE:** March 20, 2015

Version: As introduced

Authors: Daniels

Subject: District One Hospital Board meetings (Faribault)

Analyst: Deborah A. Dyson

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd/.

Reduces the minimum number of meetings that the board of the District One Hospital District must hold to at least twice each year, instead of once a month.

District One Hospital District was established under a 1963 special law. The special law provides for the board to consist of nine members appointed by an appointment committee. The special law specifies that "a five-member appointment committee of elected officials representing the municipalities of the hospital district shall be established each year. Two members of the appointing committee shall be selected by the Faribault city council. Two members of the appointing committee shall be selected by the representatives of the other municipalities at the hospital annual meeting. One county commissioner member, whose constituency is made up of at least one-third of the city of Faribault, shall be selected by the Rice County Board." Laws 1963, chapter 118, section 2, subdivision 4, as amended by Laws 1996, chapter 471, article 8, section 20. The municipalities in the district include "the cities of Faribault, Nerstrand, and Morristown; and the townships of Wheeling, Cannon City, Wells, Shieldsville, Morristown, Warsaw, Walcott, and Richland." Laws 1963, chapter 118, section 1, subdivision 3, as amended by Laws 1996, chapter 471, article 8, section 19.

Last session, the legislature authorized the district to sell district property and dissolve the district. Laws 2014, chapter 183. It does not appear that this has taken place.