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Overview 

Increases the base amounts and phaseout thresholds for the elderly exclusion, and 

modifies the definition of household income used in calculating the homestead 

credit refund and property tax refund for renters to allow couples in which both 

spouses are age 65 or older or disabled to claim two exemptions, rather than one. 

Section   

1  Elderly and disabled exclusion. Increases the base amount and the phaseout thresholds for 

the elderly and disabled exclusion, which is a subtraction from Minnesota taxable income. 

An individual must be age 65 or older or disabled to claim the subtraction. 

The exclusion is calculated using a base amount and an income-based phase-out. After 

subtracting tax exempt Social Security and railroad retirement benefits from the base 

amount, the exclusion is phased out at a 50 percent rate for taxpayers with incomes over a 

fixed threshold. Taxpayers then subtract the exclusion from Minnesota taxable income. The 

table shows the base amounts and phaseout thresholds by filing status under current law and 

under the bill, and also the effect the changes have on the maximum income at which the 

exclusion is allowed. 
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Current law 

Filing status Base amount Phaseout threshold Maximum income 

eligible 

Married joint, both 

eligible 

$12,000 $18,000 $42,000 

Married joint, one 

eligible 

$12,000 $14,500 $38,500 

Married separate $6,000 $9,000 $21,000 

Single/Head of 

household 

$9,600 $14,500 $33,700 

 

H.F. 1768 

Filing status Base amount Phaseout threshold Maximum income 

eligible 

Married joint, both 

eligible 

$20,000 $30,000 $70,000 

Married joint, one 

eligible 

$20,000 $24,000 $64,000 

Married separate $10,000 $15,000 $35,000 

Single/Head of 

household 

$16,000 $24,000 $56,000 

 

Effective date: Tax year 2015  

2  Property tax refund; household income definition. Allows a second exemption from 

household income for married couples in which both spouses are age 65 or older or disabled 

for both the homestead credit refund and the property tax refund for renters. Because the 

refunds are both calculated based on property taxes relative to household income, reducing 

household income by allowing the second exemption may increase the amount of refund 

allowed for couples in which both spouses are age 65 or older or disabled. 

Effective date: Refunds based on property taxes payable in 2016, and rent paid in 2015. 

 


