HOUSE RESEARCH

Bill Summary

March 18, 2016

DATE:

FILE NUMBER: H.F. 2674

Version: As introduced

Authors: Lueck

Subject: Mineral Coordinating Committee

Analyst: Janelle Taylor

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd/.

This bill would extend the expiration date of the Mineral Coordinating Committee by ten years (to June 30, 2016).

The Mineral Coordinating Committee is a committee made up of the following members: commissioner of natural resources; commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency; commissioner of Iron Range resources and rehabilitation board; director of the Minnesota Geological Survey; dean of the University of Minnesota Institute of Technology; director of the Natural Resources Research Institute; and four members appointed by the governor. The committee's purpose is to "plan for diversified mineral development."