HOUSE RESEARCH

Bill Summary

FILE NUMBER: DATE: H.F. 3770 April 5, 2016

> Version: As introduced

Authors: Kelly

Subject: Metropolitan Council, exclude Cannon Falls from jurisdiction

Analyst: Deborah A. Dyson

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd/.

This bill would exclude the city of Cannon Falls from the jurisdiction of the Metropolitan Council. Cannon Falls is in Goodhue County.

Currently, the council's jurisdiction encompasses the entire seven-county metropolitan area except for cities that have grown into the metropolitan area: New Prague (removed in 1978), Northfield (removed in 1980), and Hanover (removed in 1983), and the city of Rockford in (removed in 2003).