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This bill limits severance payments to highly compensated state employees to the lesser of (1) the
equivalent of six-months pay or (2) an amount equal to 35 percent of the employee’s accumulated but
unused sick time. The bill also clarifies that any severance payments must be specifically authorized in a
compensation plan. In other words, the statute does not independently authorize severance payments;
rather, the statute creates a limit up to which severance payments may be authorized in a particular
compensation plan under Minnesota Statutes, section 43A.18. Those compensation plans are subject to
the approval of the legislature under Minnesota Statutes, section 3.855 and generally cover
compensation of state employees not covered by a collective bargaining agreement.

Certain state employees, including commissioners, deputy commissioners, assistant commissioners, and
employees defined in law as “public officials” would be prohibited from receiving a severance payment,
even if authorized by their respective compensation plan.

Current law defines a “highly compensated employee” as a state employee, not covered by a collective
bargaining agreement, paid annually at least 60 percent of the governor’s salary. The governor’s salary
is currently $127,629. Sixty percent of that is $76,577.40.
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