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Allows individual income taxpayers to carry over excess section 179 expensing and bonus depreciation 

subtractions (i.e., the amount of the subtractions that exceed taxable income or if claimed would reduce 

Minnesota taxable income to a negative amount) for up to ten tax years. In calculating the carryover, the 

bill specifies that the section 179 expensing and bonus depreciation subtractions are the last subtractions 

allowed in determining Minnesota taxable income. 

Minnesota has not conformed to temporary federal increases in section 179 expensing allowances above 

the $25,000 limit that is a permanent feature of the Internal Revenue Code. Instead, Minnesota requires 

affected taxpayers to add 80 percent of any amount claimed above $25,000 to Minnesota taxable income 

on its Minnesota return, and then subtract one-fifth of the amount added back in each of the next five tax 

years. In that way, the full amount claimed at the federal level is ultimately allowed at the state level—

20 percent in the first year and 16 percent per year in the following five tax years. For tax year 2017, the 

federal allowance for section 179 expensing is $510,000; the federal amount is adjusted each year for 

inflation. 

Minnesota has also not conformed to temporary federal allowances of bonus depreciation. As with 

section 179 expensing, Minnesota requires affected taxpayers to add 80 percent of any amount claimed 

to Minnesota taxable income on its Minnesota return, and then subtract one-fifth of the amount added 

back in each of the next five tax years, so that the full amount claimed at the federal level is ultimately 

allowed at the state level. 

This arrangement can result in an individual income taxpayer being unable to claim or use the full 

allowance to reduce their taxable income for Minnesota purposes. This occurs if a business or farmer 

has taxable income in one of the five years that’s less than the 16-percent deduction they are claiming 

(these amounts may be cumulative amounts from several years of bonus depreciation and of section 179 

deductions that exceed $25,000 limit). Because current law does not allow these “excess” deduction 
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amounts to carry over to a later year, they are essentially “lost”—that is, they can never be used to 

reduce taxable income used to compute Minnesota tax. This bill allows individual income taxpayers 

(sole proprietors and pass-through entities such as S-corporations, limited liability companies, and 

partnerships) to carry over these amounts for up to ten tax years. The bill does not authorize carryovers 

for C-corporations because they can claim the unused amounts as part of their net operating loss 

deduction, which is separately calculated for Minnesota purposes. Net operating losses for individuals 

are included in the calculation of federal taxable income, the starting point for the Minnesota tax. 


