
 

Research Department Minnesota House of Representatives 600 State Office Building 
 R:\HRD_Summ\2018\1481e1 Grossell.bj.docx  Last printed 3/27/2018 4:03:00 PM 

 
 File Number: H.F. 1481 Date: March 27, 2018 

 Version: First engrossment 

   

 Authors: Grossell and others 

 Subject: Enhanced criminal penalties for assaulting firefighters or medical personnel 

 Analyst: Ben Johnson (651-296-8957)  

 

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request.  Please call 651-296-6753 

(voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance.  Summaries are 

also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd/. 

 

 

This bill amends section 609.2231 which criminalizes assaults on firefighters and emergency medical 

personnel.  The bill makes the following changes to the statue: 

1. Expands the class of protected persons to include all medical providers who work in a hospital. The 

current law applies only to medical providers who work in a hospital emergency room. 

2. Creates a gross misdemeanor penalty for a physical assault on a firefighter or a medical provider who 

works in a hospital where the assault does not cause demonstrable bodily harm. The current law applies 

only when there is demonstrable bodily harm. 

3. Creates a felony offense punishable by up to three years in prison and a fine of $6,000 for 

intentionally throwing or transferring bodily fluids or feces onto a firefighter or a medical provider who 

works in a hospital. 

4. Increases the maximum period of imprisonment for assaulting a firefighter or a medical provider who 

works in a hospital when the assault causes demonstrable bodily harm from two years to three, and 

increases the maximum fine from $4,000 to $6,000. 

 


