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Overview 

This bill establishes a grape and wine growers council that would administer a 

grant program to promote and develop the Minnesota wine and grape industries. 

The program would be funded through a new Minnesota grape and wine account.  

This new account would be funded with a percentage of the alcohol gross receipts 

and sales taxes. To this end, H.F. 1831, imposes the gross receipts tax on a direct 

shipper of wine and requires a shipper to collect and remit sales and use tax, to the 

extent allowed under federal law.  

This bill also amends Minnesota’s direct shipped wine law that allows a winery to 

ship up to two cases of wine to a Minnesota resident each year, by requiring direct 

shippers to obtain a license and imposing certain reporting obligations on them.  

Section   

1  Minnesota grape and wine council. 

     Subd. 1. Establishment; membership. Establishes a 15 member council that must 

include five wine growers, two grape growers, one member each of the Minnesota Farm 

Winery Association, Minnesota Grape Growers Association, Explore Minnesota Tourism, 

one member representing Minnesota grown, one member representing the commissioner of 

agriculture, and one member each from the Minnesota Licensed Beverage Association, 

Minnesota Municipal Beverage Association, and Minnesota Cider Guild.  
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Creates staggered 3-year terms for members, who are appointed by the commissioner of 

agriculture.  

     Subd. 2. Powers and duties. Provides the council with the power to establish a program 

that provides grants for promotion, education, and development of Minnesota wine and 

grapes. 

     Subd. 3. Rules. Exempts the commissioner from the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14.  

2  Minnesota grape and wine program.  

     Subd. 1. Eligible projects. Establishes standards for project eligibility, which must 

relate to the promotion, education, or development of the Minnesota wine industry. 

The council may also provide grants to expand grape production and recommend 

funding for extension agents to work with growers and wineries. 

     Subd. 2. Awarding grants. Establishes administrative provisions for grant 

applications and approval. Requires annual progress reports from grant recipients.  

     Subd. 3. Annual audit. Requires the council to file an annual financial audit.  

3  Minnesota grape and wine account. Establishes the grape and wine account in the 

agricultural fund. Funds may be used by the commissioner of agriculture for grants, 

administrative support, and to recover indirect costs under section 16A.127. 

4  Definitions. Adds a definition of “direct shipper” to the definitions found in the alcohol 

gross receipts section. A “direct shipper” is defined as a winery holding the direct shipper 

license required in section 9. 

Effective for sales and purchases made after June 30, 2018. 

5  Gross receipts tax imposed. Imposes the alcohol gross receipts tax of 2.5 percent on direct 

wine shippers.  

Effective for sales and purchases made after June 30, 2018. 

6  Deposit of revenues. Requires the commissioner of revenue to deposit a portion of the 

alcohol gross receipts tax into the Minnesota grape and wine account created in section 3, by 

an unspecified amount starting August 1, 2018, and by a fractional amount of an amount 

calculated with reference to the tax paid by direct shippers relative to the tax collected under 

chapter 295. 

Effective for sales and purchases made after June 30, 2018. 

7  Retailer not maintaining a place of business in the state. Requires a remote seller of wine 

who is a licensed direct shipper to collect and remit sales and use tax, to the extent allowed 

under federal law, and imposes a rebuttable presumption on licensed direct shippers that they 

are engaged in regular solicitation within the state. 

Effective for sales and purchases made after June 30, 2018. 

8  Deposit of revenues. Requires the commissioner of revenue to deposit a portion of the sales 

tax revenues in the Minnesota grape and wine account in a manner similar to what is 

prescribed in section 6. 
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Effective for sales and purchases made after June 30, 2018. 

9  Direct wine shipments; license required.  

     Subd. 1. Direct shipper license. Amends Minnesota’s direct ship wine law by 

requiring direct shippers to obtain a license. Licenses are annual, and require an 

application and fee, a wine manufacturing permit, and a Minnesota sales and use tax 

permit. Applicants must also be current on all state taxes.  

Also requires that direct shippers only ship wine in accordance with their federal 

permit, deems shippers to have consented to state jurisdiction, and prohibits shipments 

of wine into the state from anyone not holding a direct shipper license.  

     Subd. 2. Reporting. Requires annual or quarterly reporting by direct shippers 

detailing shipper information, total liters of wine shipped, and the date, quantity and 

purchase price of each shipment and taxes paid. 

     Subd. 3. Penalties. Reorganizes the penalty paragraph in section 340A.417, as well 

as the other paragraphs, into subdivisions.  

Effective January 1, 2019. 

 

  

 


