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Overview 

Makes a variety of policy changes to the laws involving the sale and closure of 

manufactured home parks. 

Section   

1  Public hearing; relocation compensation; neutral third party. Specifies that the public 

hearing must take place within 60 days after receiving a notice of closure. Clarifies that the 

neutral third party appointed to administer the closure of a manufactured home park must be 

“qualified,” meaning familiar with manufactured housing and the relevant laws. Allows the 

municipality to select a neutral third party if the parties cannot. Requires the neutral third 

party keep a detailed accounting of payments under this section, which must be provided to 

the park owner, the municipality, and the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency, which must 

in turn include this information in its yearly report. 

2  Intent to convert use of park at time of purchase. Allows an entity to purchase a park 

during the statutory notice period only if the entity agrees in writing to continue to operate 

the park for at least six years after the date of closing. 

3  Payment to the Minnesota manufactured home relocation trust fund. Requires that the 

Minnesota manufactured home relocation trust fund must have a balance of at least 

$3,000,000, rather than $1,000,000, or an assessment on park owners is triggered. Changes 

the payment deadline for that assessment from September 15 to November 15. Stipulates that 

if the commissioner of management and budget fails to notify and assess park owners by 

August 30 of any given year, the park owners’ payment obligations are waived for the year. 

Specifies that the letter explaining the assessment must be sent with the assessment notice.  
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4  Change in use, relocation expenses; payments by park owner. Increases the distance from 

the closed park that a manufactured home may be moved and still qualify for reimbursement 

for relocation costs from 25 miles to 50 miles. Requires the neutral third party to process all 

relocation expense payments from the trust fund within 14 days for complete applications. 

Allows $3,000, rather than $1,000, in demolition and site cleanup costs to be deducted from 

payments to manufactured home owners who tender title to their home because it is unable to 

be moved. Changes the deadline for Minnesota Housing Finance Agency’s reports from 

January 15 to October 15, requires the report be posted to its Web site as well, and specifies 

many more details this report must include. Makes technical corrections. 

5  Reporting of licensed manufactured home parks. Adds a new subdivision requiring the 

Department of Health (and local governments it has delegated to) to provide the Department 

of Management and Budget license information for each manufactured home park by March 

31 each year so invoices for assessments can be sent.  

6  Advances to the Minnesota manufactured home relocation trust fund. Allows the 

Minnesota Housing Finance Agency or Department of Management and Budget to advance 

up to $400,000 from its own resources to the Minnesota manufactured home relocation fund 

in order to pay claims. Provides for later reimbursement of any such advance. 

 


