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Overview 

Two United States Supreme Court decisions, Miller v. Alabama (2012) and Montgomery 

v. Louisiana (2016), prohibited mandatory life sentences without the possibility of parole 

for juveniles, but permitted the use of life sentences without parole in rare circumstances 

where the juvenile committed murder and the crime reflects “permanent incorrigibility.” 

Minnesota Statutes permit sentencing juvenile offenders to life without parole. In two 

opinions in the same case, State v. Ali I (2014) and State v. Ali II (2017), the Minnesota 

Supreme Court addressed those statutes. In Ali I, the court found that sentences 

imposing life without the possibility of parole on an offender who committed the offense 

while a juvenile are unconstitutional without additional findings in a Miller hearing. The 

court relied on section 244.05, subdivision 4 to require parole eligibility after the 

offender serves 30 years unless the court made the findings required under Miller. The 

court further found that the Miller hearing must be treated as a hearing for a mitigated 

sentence and, therefore, the jury requirements under Blakely do not apply. In Ali II, the 

court found that consecutive sentences involving parole eligibility are constitutional even 

if they result in a de facto sentence of life without the possibility of parole. The United 

States Supreme Court denied the request to review that decision. 

This bill establishes that an offender who commits an offense as a juvenile and is 

sentenced to life imprisonment must be made eligible for parole after serving 25 years. 

Summary 

Section Description 

  Minimum imprisonment, life sentence. 

Provides that an inmate serving a life sentence under the heinous crimes provision or the 
egregious first-time and repeat sex offender provision who committed the offense when 
the defendant was under 18 years of age and was certified as an adult or designated an 
extended jurisdiction juvenile is not eligible for parole until that person has served 25 
years of imprisonment. 

Heinous crimes are the following: 
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Section Description 

 first or second degree murder, or attempted first or second degree murder; 

 third degree murder or first degree assault; and 

 criminal sexual conduct in the first, second, or third degree when committed 
with force or violence. 

Egregious first-time and repeat criminal sexual assault offenders are those who commit 
certain first or second degree criminal sexual conduct offenses with either two heinous 
elements, or a prior offense and one heinous element. 

Further provides that an inmate serving a life sentence for first degree murder who 
committed the offense when the defendant was under 18 years of age and was certified 
as an adult or designated an extended jurisdiction juvenile is not eligible for parole until 
that person has served 25 years of imprisonment. 

  Supervised release, life sentence. 

Makes a conforming change eliminating the term “mandatory.” 

  Life without release. 

Makes a conforming change identifying the exception created by section 4 of this bill. 

  Offender under age 18; life imprisonment with possibility of release. 

Consistent with section 1 of the bill, provides that an inmate serving a life sentence under 
the heinous crimes provision who committed the offense when the defendant was under 
18 years of age and was certified as an adult or designated an extended jurisdiction 
juvenile is not eligible for parole until that person has served 25 years of imprisonment. 

  Mandatory life sentence without release; egregious first-time and repeat offenders. 

Consistent with section one of the bill, provides that an inmate serving a life sentence 
under the egregious first-time and repeat sex offender provision who committed the 
offense when the defendant was under 18 years of age and was certified as an adult or 
designated an extended jurisdiction juvenile is not eligible for parole until that person has 
served 25 years of imprisonment. 

  Effective date; retroactivity. 

Makes sections 1 through 5 effective the day following final enactment and states that 
the bill applies retroactively. 
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