





- Subject Child pornography penalties
- Authors Grossell
- Analyst Jeff Diebel
 - Date February 20, 2019

Overview

This bill increases penalties for child pornography offenses.

Summary

Section	Description
1	Use of minor.
	Increases the penalty for using a minor in a sexual performance or pornographic work.
2	Operation or ownership of business.
	Increases the penalty for a business owner who shows a pornographic work involving a minor.
3	Dissemination.
	Increases the maximum sentence for dissemination of child pornography for a profit to 15 years.
4	Conditional release term.
	Increases the conditional release term for offenders convicted of child pornography for profit from five years to ten years. Imposes up to a 50-year conditional release term on repeat offenders.
5	Mandatory minimum sentence.
	Provides a mandatory minimum sentence of six months in jail for first time offenders convicted under section 617.246 (use of minors in sexual performance prohibited). Predatory offenders and repeat offenders of either section 617.246 or section 617.247 (distribution and possession of child pornography) receive a mandatory minimum of 12 months of incarceration.

Section Description

6 **Dissemination prohibited.**

Increases the maximum sentence for dissemination of child pornography to 10 years for a first time offender and 20 years for each subsequent conviction, or if the person is required to register as a predatory offender.

7 Possession prohibited.

Increases the maximum sentence for possession of child pornography to seven years for first time offenders and 15 years for each subsequent conviction, or if the person is required to register as a predatory offender.

8 **Conditional release term.**

Increases the conditional release term for offenders convicted of child pornography from five years to ten years. Imposes up to a 50-year conditional release term on repeat offenders.

9 Mandatory minimum sentence.

Provides a mandatory minimum sentence of six months in jail for first time offenders convicted of distribution and possession of child pornography (Minn. Stat. § 617.247). Predatory offenders and repeat offenders of either section 617.246 or section 617.247 receive a mandatory minimum of 12 months of incarceration.

10 Sentencing guidelines modification.

Directs the Sentencing Guidelines Commission to modify the sex offender grid by increasing the severity level ranking of the offenses of manufacturing, disseminating, and possessing child pornography.



Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document can be made available in alternative formats.

www.house.mn/hrd | 651-296-6753 | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155