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Overview 

This bill modifies a variety of provisions related to manufactured and modular homes. 

Summary 

Section Description 

  Fees. 

Decreases licensing fees for manufactured home installers. 

  Modular home. 

Defines "modular home." 

  Placement of modular homes. 

Allows placement of modular homes in manufactured home parks and grants them the 
same legal rights, obligations, duties, and tax treatment as manufactured homes. 

  Manufactured home installers. 

Removes language stating that licensure as a manufactured home installer is a business 
license for the purposes of calculating fees under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.092. 

  Public hearing; relocation compensation; neutral third party. 

Specifies that the public hearing must take place within 60 days after receiving a notice of 
closure. Clarifies that the neutral third party appointed to administer the closure of a 
manufactured home park must be “qualified,” meaning familiar with manufactured 
housing and the relevant laws. Allows the municipality to select a neutral third party if the 
parties cannot. Requires the neutral third party keep a detailed accounting of payments 
under this section, which must be provided to the park owner, the municipality, and the 
Minnesota Housing Finance Agency, which must in turn include this information in its 
yearly report. 
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Section Description 

  Intent to convert use of park at time of purchase. 

Allows an entity to purchase a park during the statutory notice period only if the entity 
agrees in writing to continue to operate the park for at least six years after the date of 
closing. 

  Payment to the Minnesota manufactured home relocation trust fund. 

Requires that the Minnesota manufactured home relocation trust fund must have a 
balance of at least $3,000,000, rather than $1,000,000, or an assessment on park owners 
is triggered. Changes the payment deadline for that assessment from September 15 to 
November 15. Stipulates that if the commissioner of management and budget fails to 
notify and assess park owners by August 30 of any given year, the park owners’ payment 
obligations are waived for the year. Specifies that the letter explaining the assessment 
must be sent with the assessment notice. 

  Change in use, relocation expenses; payments by park owner. 

Increases the distance from the closed park that a manufactured home may be moved 
and still qualify for reimbursement for relocation costs from 25 miles to 50 miles. 
Requires the neutral third party to process all relocation expense payments from the trust 
fund within 14 days for complete applications. Allows $3,000, rather than $1,000, in 
demolition and site cleanup costs to be deducted from payments to manufactured home 
owners who tender title to their home because it is unable to be moved. Changes the 
deadline for Minnesota Housing Finance Agency’s reports from January 15 to October 15, 
requires the report be posted to its Web site as well, and specifies many more details this 
report must include. Makes technical corrections. 

  Reporting of licensed manufactured home parks. 

Adds a new subdivision requiring the Department of Health (and local governments it has 
delegated to) to provide the Department of Management and Budget license information 
for each manufactured home park by March 31 each year so invoices for assessments can 
be sent. 

  Advances to the Minnesota manufactured home relocation trust fund. 

Allows the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency or Department of Management and 
Budget to advance up to $400,000 from its own resources to the Minnesota 
manufactured home relocation fund in order to pay claims. Provides for later 
reimbursement of any such advance. 
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