

H.F. 1408

First division engrossment

Subject Highway work zones

Authors Koegel and Hornstein

Analyst Matt Burress (matt.burress@house.mn)

Date March 8, 2019

Overview

This bill modifies traffic regulations and flagger requirements related to work zones, to:

- set a \$300 fine for a driver who operates a vehicle in violation of the instructions of a work zone flagger, and clarify that the violation is a petty misdemeanor;
- allow a peace officer to stop a vehicle and issue the driver a citation for a work zone violation after a report of a violation is provided by a work zone flagger within four hours of the incident, without the officer directly observing the violation;
- prohibit handheld cellular phone calls while in a work zone; and
- require bidding specifications for some road construction and maintenance contracts to specify hours for work zone flaggers.

Under current law, a vehicle owner or lessee (as opposed to the vehicle operator) can be subject to a \$300 fine if the vehicle is operated in violation of work zone flagger instructions (unless another person is convicted for the violation or the vehicle was stolen). A \$300 fine is also imposed for speeding in a work zone.

Summary

Description [Adds § 160.075] Construction contracts; specifications. Requires road authorities to include flagger work hours in the bidding specifications for some road construction and maintenance projects in which flaggers are anticipated to be used.

2 Obedience to work zone flagger; violation, penalty.

Authorizes peace officers to stop and cite the driver of a motor vehicle that has been reported by a qualified work zone flagger as having violated traffic regulations within a work zone. The authority is for up to four hours from the time of the incident (so that the officer does not need to have directly observed the violation). Sets a \$300 fine for a violation by the driver.

Section Description Prohibition on use; penalty. Prohibits all use of a wireless communication device while in a work zone, including handheld cellular phone use. There are some exceptions to the ban, including for handsfree device use. Exceptions. Makes a conforming change.



Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document can be made available in alternative formats.

www.house.mn/hrd | 651-296-6753 | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155