





- Subject Highway work zones
- Authors Koegel and Hornstein
- Analyst Matt Burress (matt.burress@house.mn)
  - Date February 28, 2019

## **Overview**

This bill modifies traffic regulations related to work zones, to:

- set a \$300 fine for a driver who operates a vehicle in violation of the instructions of a work zone flagger, and clarify that the violation is a petty misdemeanor;
- allow a peace officer to stop a vehicle and issue the driver a citation for a work zone violation after a report of a violation is provided by a work zone flagger within four hours of the incident, without the officer directly observing the violation; and
- prohibit handheld cellular phone calls while in a work zone.

Under current law, a vehicle owner or lessee (as opposed to the vehicle operator) is subject to a \$300 fine if the vehicle is operated in violation of work zone flagger instructions (unless another person is convicted for the violation, or the vehicle was stolen). A \$300 fine is also imposed for speeding in a work zone.

Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document can be made available in alternative formats.