

Bill Summary H.F. 1538 As introduced

- Subject Hospital districts, participation by unorganized territories
- Authors Sandstede and others
- Analyst Deborah A. Dyson
- Date March 5, 2019

## **Overview**

Under general law, any two or more cities and towns (excluding first class cities) may create a hospital district. This bill provides that "town" may include an unorganized territory in a county and for that area, the county board is the governing body. Sixteen counties in the state have unorganized territory, meaning there is not city or town government: Aitkin, Beltrami, Carlton, Cass, Clearwater, Cook, Crow Wing, Hennepin (Fort Snelling), Itasca, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Roseau, and St. Louis.

The bill also modifies how a vacancy on the hospital district board may be filled. Under current law, a hospital district is governed by a hospital board composed of one member elected from each city and town in the district and one member elected at large, and a vacancy is filled by appointment by the hospital district board. The bill provides that the governing body of the city or town of the departing member makes the appointment to fill the vacancy, or if the departing member was the one elected at large, the county board of each county with territory in the hospital district makes the appointment.

Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document can be made available in alternative formats.