



- Subject Written notice before eviction complaint
- Authors Hassan and others
- Analyst Mary Mullen
 - Date March 5, 2020

Overview

Requires a landlord to give a tenant 14 days' written notice for unpaid rent before filing an eviction action for unpaid rent.

Summary

Section Description

1 Terminating tenancy at will.

Removes the provision that allows a landlord to terminate a tenancy without a written lease with 14 days' notice. The existing law that requires notice to be as long as the interval between the time rent is due would apply.

2 Complaint and summons.

Requires a landlord to deliver in person or by mail a letter explaining the total amount of rent owed and information about rental rights and assistance. The landlord must wait 14 days to proceed with filing an eviction to allow the tenant to pay the rent owed.

Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document can be made available in alternative formats.