

H.F. 3072

First engrossment

Subject Smoking in vehicles with minors present prohibited

Authors Moran and others

Analyst Elisabeth Klarqvist

Date February 27, 2020

## **Overview**

This bill prohibits smoking in a passenger vehicle when a person under 18 is present in the vehicle. A person who violates this prohibition is subject to a safety warning for a first violation and a \$50 fine for a second or subsequent violation.

# **Summary**

## **Section Description**

#### 1 Public transportation vehicle.

Amends § 144.414, subd. 4. Under current law, the Clean Indoor Air Act prohibits smoking in public transportation vehicles, except the driver of a public transportation vehicle may smoke when the vehicle is being used for personal use. This section prohibits smoking by a driver of a public transportation vehicle using the vehicle for personal use, if a person under 18 is present in the vehicle.

#### 2 Smoking in passenger vehicle with a person under age 18 present.

Adds subd. 6 to § 144.414. Adds a reference in the Clean Indoor Air Act to a section in chapter 169 that prohibits smoking in a passenger vehicle when a person under age 18 is present in the vehicle.

#### 3 Private places.

Amends § 144.4167, subd. 3. Under current law, the Clean Indoor Air Act does not prohibit smoking in private automobiles when they are not in use as a place of employment. This section provides that the act does not prohibit smoking in private automobiles when they are not in use as a place of employment and when no person under 18 is present in the vehicle.

## 4 Smoking with a person under age 18 present.

Adds § 169.477. Prohibits smoking in a passenger vehicle when a person under age 18 is present in the vehicle and establishes a fine for violations.

**Subd. 1. Definitions.** Defines terms for this section: passenger vehicle and smoke.

## **Section Description**

**Subd. 2. Prohibition on smoking.** Prohibits smoking in a passenger vehicle if a person under 18 is present in the vehicle. Provides a person who violates this section shall receive a safety warning for the first violation and a \$50 fine for a second or subsequent violation. Prohibits the Department of Public Safety from recording a violation of this subdivision on the person's driving record.

**Subd. 3. Peace officer authority to stop or search.** Prohibits a peace officer from issuing a citation for a violation of this section unless the officer stopped the passenger vehicle driver for a moving violation other than a violation involving vehicle equipment.

Makes this section effective August 1, 2020, for violations committed on or after that date.

## 5 Suspension for failure to pay fine.

Amends § 171.16, subd. 3. Provides that a person who violates section 169.477 and has not paid the fine shall not have his or her driver's license suspended.

## 6 Surcharges on criminal and traffic offenders.

Amends § 357.021, subd. 6. Provides that a person who violates section 169.477 will not have to pay the \$75 surcharge established by this subdivision for felony, gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor offenses.

Makes this section effective August 1, 2020, for violations committed on or after that date.



Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document can be made available in alternative formats.

www.house.mn/hrd | 651-296-6753 | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155