

- Subject Grant program for students with intellectual and developmental disabilities expanded to adjacent states
- Authors Pryor and others
- Analyst Sean Williams
 - Date February 21, 2020

Summary

The Office of Higher Education (OHE) administers a grant program for students with intellectual and developmental disabilities who attend Comprehensive Transition and Postsecondary programs (CTPs) in Minnesota. The grant program covers the cost of tuition and fees, in excess of Pell grants, state grants, and institutional aid. There is no maximum grant amount set in law, but OHE may establish a maximum grant if appropriations for the program are insufficient. The maximum grant in fiscal year 2019 was \$13,838.

H.F. 3401 would expand eligibility for the existing grant program to certain postsecondary institutions in neighboring states. To qualify, an institution must operate a CTP, participate in federal financial aid programs, maintain academic standards substantially equivalent to those of comparable institutions in Minnesota, and establish an institutional participation agreement with OHE.

The bill prohibits OHE from awarding more than 25 percent of the total grants awarded to institutions in states bordering Minnesota.

Background

Comprehensive Transition and Postsecondary programs (CTPs) are higher education programs for students with intellectual disabilities. CTPs are approved by the federal Department of Education. They are designed to support students with intellectual disabilities who want to continue academic, career, and independent living instruction. The programs include:

- Enrollment in credit-bearing and noncredit-bearing courses with students who are not disabled.
- Internships or work-based training with students who are not disabled.
- Academic advising and a structured curriculum.

There are four CTPs in Minnesota—at Central Lakes College in Brainerd, Rochester Community and Technical College in Rochester, Bethel University in Saint Paul, and Ridgewater College in Willmar.

The CTP programs in adjacent states that are approved to participate in federal financial aid are:

- The University of Iowa in Iowa City, IA.
- Augustana University in Sioux Falls, SD.
- Edgewater College in Madison, WI.
- The University of Wisconsin-Whitewater in Whitewater, WI.



Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document can be made available in alternative formats.

www.house.mn/hrd | 651-296-6753 | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155