

- Subject Postpartum Health Coverage
- Authors Morrison
- Analyst Randall Chun
 - Date March 4, 2020

Overview

Medical Assistance (MA) provides coverage for pregnant women with incomes up to 278 percent of the federal poverty guidelines (FPG). Women remain eligible for MA at this income level for 60 days postpartum and, following this period, may remain eligible for MA at a lower income level of 133 percent of FPG or may be eligible for MinnesotaCare if their incomes do not exceed 200 percent of FPG. This bill exempts persons terminated from MA eligibility as pregnant women from MinnesotaCare premiums for ten months following the end of the MA postpartum period, and requires the commissioner of human services to present recommendations to the legislature on methods to ensure continuous health care coverage for women and infants following the MA postpartum period.

Summary

Section Description

1 Sliding fee scale; monthly individual or family income.

Amends § 256L.15, subd. 2. Exempts women who are eligible for MinnesotaCare immediately following termination of MA eligibility as pregnant women from MinnesotaCare premiums, for the ten months following the month MA ended.

2 Continuous coverage during postpartum period.

Requires the commissioner of human services to examine methods to ensure continuous health care coverage for women and infants following the MA 60-day postpartum coverage period, including extending MA coverage through a federal 1115 waiver. Requires the commissioner to present recommendations to the legislature by December 15, 2020.



Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document can be made available in alternative formats.

www.house.mn/hrd | 651-296-6753 | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155