



- Subject Modification of horse racing regulations
- Authors Tabke and Albright
- Analyst Ben Johnson (ben.johnson@house.mn)
 - Date May 1, 2020

Overview

This bill modifies fees related to horse racing and permits the commission to waive minimum requirements related to operating a card club for conditions that are outside the licensee's control.

Summary

Section Description

1 Purses.

Expands the uses to which money paid by a licensee to a horseperson's organization can be used to include capital improvements and expense reimbursements specific to the operation of live racing which is beneficial to racing at the licensee's facility.

2 Payments to state.

Increases the regulatory fee on amounts wagered by Minnesota residents with an authorized advance deposit wagering provider from one percent to two percent.

3 Limitation.

Creates an exception to the minimum number of days in which a licensee must conduct live racing at a class A facility in order to operate a card club. The exception applies if the licensee fails to conduct at least 50 days of racing within the past 12 months because of circumstances beyond the licensee's control.

4 Reimbursement to commission.

Makes reimbursement by a licensee to the commission for the commission's expenses related to regulating a card club permissive. Under current law, reimbursement is mandatory.

5 Effective date.

Makes the sections effective the day following final enactment. Provides that section 2 expires December 31, 2021.



Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document can be made available in alternative formats.

www.house.mn/hrd | 651-296-6753 | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155