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Overview 

Courts retain jurisdiction over most juveniles who commit an offense until that 

person turns 19 years old. The court has jurisdiction over extended jurisdiction 

juveniles (EJJ) until that person turns 21 years old. This bill requires the 

Department of Corrections and probation offices to collect and report statistics 

related to the number of individuals designated EJJ, the demographics of those 

individuals, and the outcomes of individuals designated EJJ. 

Two United States Supreme Court decisions, Miller v. Alabama (2012) and 

Montgomery v. Louisiana (2016), prohibited mandatory life sentences without 

the possibility of release for juveniles, but permitted the use of life sentences 

without release in rare circumstances where the juvenile committed murder and 

the crime reflects “permanent incorrigibility.” 

Minnesota Statutes permit sentencing juvenile offenders to life without release. 

In two opinions in the same case, State v. Ali I (2014) and State v. Ali II (2017), the 

Minnesota Supreme Court addressed those statutes. In Ali I, the court found that 

sentences imposing life without the possibility of parole on an offender who 

committed the offense while a juvenile are unconstitutional without additional 

findings in a Miller hearing. The court relied on section 244.05, subdivision 4 to 

require eligibility for release after the offender serves 30 years unless the court 

made the findings required under Miller. The court further found that the Miller 

hearing must be treated as a hearing for a mitigated sentence and, therefore, the 

jury requirements under Blakely do not apply. In Ali II, the court found that 

consecutive sentences involving parole eligibility are constitutional even if they 

result in a de facto sentence of life without the possibility of release. The United 

States Supreme Court denied the request to review that decision. 

This bill establishes that an offender who commits an offense as a juvenile and is 

sentenced to life imprisonment or a period of confinement that would exceed 15 

years must be made eligible for release after serving 15 years in custody. 
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Summary 

Section Description 

 Annual performance report required. 

Requires the Department of Corrections to maintain annual statistics and provide 
them in the department’s annual report. The statistics must include: the number and 
demographics of extended jurisdiction juveniles under supervision; the number of 
extended jurisdiction juveniles who successfully completed probation in the previous 
year; the number who were discharged early from supervision; the number who had 
a sentence executed; and the average length of time an extended jurisdiction 
juvenile spends under supervision. 

 Supervised release; offenders who commit crimes on or after August 1, 1993. 

Makes a conforming change. 

 Minimum imprisonment, life sentence. 

Provides that an inmate serving a life sentence who committed the offense when the 
person was under 18 years of age is not eligible for release until that person has 
served 15 years of imprisonment. 

 Eligibility for early supervised release; offenders who were under 18 at the time 
offense. 

Provides that an inmate serving a sentence that includes more than 15 years of 
incarceration and who committed that offense when the person was under 18 years 
of age is eligible, and must be considered, for early supervised release after serving 
15 years of incarceration. Establishes that the opportunity for early supervised 
release applies to all consecutive sentences to which the person is sentenced. 

 Supervised release, life sentence. 

Makes a conforming change. 

 Juvenile review board. 

Subd. 1. Board. Establishes the Juvenile Review Board. 

Subd. 2. Members. Provides that the board consists of the commissioner of 
corrections, commissioner of human services, commissioner of public safety, 
attorney general, and three at-large members with expertise in the 
neurodevelopment of youth. 

Subd. 3. Terms, compensation, and removal. States that the terms, 
compensation, and removal of members is governed by Minnesota Statues, 
section 15.0575. 
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Section Description 

Subd. 4. Powers and duties. Establishes that the board has the authority to 
release inmates who were under 18 at the time they committed an offense after 
the inmate has served 15 years or at an earlier time established by the court. 
Permits the board to grant release on multiple consecutive sentences. Requires 
the board to conduct an initial release hearing as soon as practicable after the 
inmate becomes eligible for release and requires a hearing by July 1, 2022, for 
any inmates who were eligible on or before July 1, 2021. Directs the board to 
conduct subsequent review hearings no sooner than six months after the prior 
hearing and no later than three years later. Permits the board to direct that the 
inmate serve supervised release time on intensive supervised release. 

Subd. 5. Administrative services. Directs the commissioner of corrections to 
provide administrative support for the board and permits the commissioner to 
utilize the services of other agencies and accept donated services. 

Subd. 6. Development report. Directs the board to require the preparation of a 
development report by a mental health professional to address the cognitive, 
emotional, and social maturity of the inmate. Permits the board to rely on a 
report that was prepared in the previous 12 months. 

Subd. 7. Victim statement. Directs the board to notify any victim before a 
hearing and accept a written or oral statement by any victim. 

Subd. 8. Review hearing; notice. Directs the board to notify an inmate of the 
date and time of the hearing at least 90 days before the hearing. Notice must 
include that the inmate has the right to counsel, the right to access the inmate’s 
file, and the right to submit written arguments to the board before the hearing. 

Subd. 9. Considerations. Directs the board to consider multiple factors in 
determining whether to grant release, including the development report, the 
inmate’s conduct and progress while incarcerated, and the risk the inmate poses 
to the community. Directs the board to consider the neurological development of 
juveniles in making its decisions. Prohibits the board from granting release to a 
person who has not successfully completed appropriate treatment or 
participated in appropriate mental health treatment. Also requires an inmate to 
have a comprehensive individual release plan before release. 

Subd. 10. Findings of the board. Directs the board to issue its decision within 30 
days of a hearing. If the board denies release, it must identify specific steps an 
inmate can take to increase the likelihood of release at a future hearing. 

Subd. 11. Review by court of appeals. Establishes that the court of appeals has 
the authority to review decisions of the board on two grounds: whether the 
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Section Description 

order conforms with the section, and whether the findings of fact and order were 
unsupported by the entire record as submitted. 

 Executed sentences. 

Makes a conforming change. 

 Powers and duties. 

Requires county probation officers to provide the Department of Corrections with 
the data needed to prepare the report required under subdivision 1. 

 Comprehensive plan; standards of eligibility; compliance. 

Requires probation agencies in County Corrections Act counties to provide the 
Department of Corrections with the data needed to prepare the report required 
under subdivision 1. 

 Administrative review. 

Makes a conforming change granting the court of appeals the authority to review 
decisions by the Juvenile Review Board. 

 Life without release. 

Makes a conforming change. 

 Offender under age 18; life imprisonment. 

Establishes that a court must sentence an offender who commits a heinous offense, 
as defined in the statute, when the person was under 18 years old to life in prison 
with the possibility of release. 

 Mandatory life sentence without release; certain first-time and repeat egregious 
offenders. 

Provides that a court must sentence an offender who commits an offense under the 
conditions identified in the dangerous sex offender statute when the person was 
under 18 years old to life in prison with the possibility of release. 

 Life sentences; minimum term of imprisonment. 

Establishes that a court must sentence an offender who commits an offense under 
the conditions identified in the dangerous sex offender statute when the person was 
under 18 years old to life in prison with the possibility of release after serving no 
more than 15 years. 
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