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Overview 

Provides updates and clarifications to the transfer on death deed law and creates 

a requirement that insurers provide 30 days of coverage for properties with a 

transfer on death deed if they have been notified that the deed exists to allow the 

grantee to obtain insurance. 

Summary 

Section Description 

 Transfer on death deed. 

Amends various sections of the transfer on death deed law, including: 

▪ clarifying there is no affect on the title when a transfer on death deed is 
executed before the death of the owner, except that there is an insurable 
interest in favor of the designee; 

▪ provides for what happens if a joint tenant is the designee and dies before 
the owner/grantor; 

▪ allows transfer on death deeds to be valid, or revoked, when the deed or 
revocation was recorded incorrectly or incompletely for registered 
properties; 

▪ clarifies that a descendant of the grantee beneficiary only takes the place 
of a deceased grantee beneficiary when there is not a successor grantee 
named in the transfer on death deed and also provides when a court 
order following probate law must be used when a grantee beneficiary 
cannot take the property; 

▪ clarifies what happens where there are two competing transfer on death 
deeds that describe some of the same property; and 

▪ clarifies jurisdiction for cases related to transfer on death deeds is with 
the probate court, including medical assistance liens or the death of a 
grantee. 
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Section Description 

2 Property insurance for grantee beneficiaries of transfer on death deeds. 

Provides that an insurance company must allow for extended coverage for the 
transfer after the death of the grantor and must cover the grantee until the grantee 
obtains insurance or 30 days, whichever comes earlier, when the insurance company 
is notified there is a transfer on death deed executed for the property. The grantee 
does not have any right to the insurance unless the grantor has died, and a new 
warning must be included in transfer on death deeds after August 1, 2024, informing 
the grantee of issues related to the insurance of the property, including that if no 
notice was provided to the insurance company about the existence of the transfer on 
death deed, the property may not be insured. 

 

 Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and 
information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document 
can be made available in alternative formats. 

www.house.mn.gov/hrd | 651-296-6753 | 155 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 


