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Overview 

Creates a new requirement that at least a certain percent of the employees of 

any contractor working at a petroleum refinery must have experience with a 

registered apprenticeship program in the applicable trade. Establishes fines and a 

private right of action to punish violators and allows the commissioner to issue 

compliance orders. 

Summary 

Section Description  

 Compliance orders. [§ 177.27, subd. 4] 

Adds section 2 [§ 181.987] to the list of statutes the commissioner of labor and 
industry may issue a compliance order to an employer about, effective October 15, 
2023. 

2 Use of skilled and trained contractor workforces at petroleum refineries. [§ 
181.987] 

Creates a new requirement that at least a certain percent of the employees of any 
contractor working at a petroleum refinery must have experience with a registered 
apprenticeship program in the applicable trade. Establishes fines and a private right 
of action to punish violators. Effective October 15, 2023. 

Subd. 1. Definitions. Provides definitions, including defining “skilled and trained 
workforce” as a minimum percent of the employees of a contractor or 
subcontractor working at the site of the petroleum refinery either currently or 
previously being registered apprentices in the applicable trade or having 
completed all requirements to graduate from a registered apprenticeship. The 
minimum percentage begins at 65 percent by October 15, 2023, and steps up 
annually by 10 percent until reaching 85 percent by October 15, 2025. 

Subd. 2. Use of contractors by owner, operator; requirement. Requires the 
owner or operator of a petroleum refinery to require that all contractors and 
subcontractors performing certain types of work on site to use a skilled and 
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Section Description  

trained workforce as defined in subdivision 1, unless hired to perform OEM work 
necessary to comply with equipment warranty requirements or unless subject to 
a project labor agreement or collectively bargained maintenance agreement 
involving a registered apprenticeship program. 

Subd. 3. Penalties. Directs the commissioner of labor and industry to fine 
owners, operators, contractors, or subcontractors at least $5,000, but no more 
than $10,000 for every shift where the skilled and trained workforce requirement 
is violated, in addition to other penalties. Allows the size of the penalty to be 
scaled to the size of the violator’s business and the gravity of the violation. 

Subd. 4. Civil actions. Creates a private right of action for anyone injured by a 
violation of this section to sue the violator for damages in district court. Allows 
the court to award a successful plaintiff these damages, plus attorney fees, cost, 
disbursements, and other relief. 

Effective date. This section is effective October 15, 2023. 

 

 Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and 
information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document 
can be made available in alternative formats. 

www.house.mn/hrd | 651-296-6753 | 155 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 


