



- Subject Reporting requirements for lost and stolen firearms
- Authors Her and others
- Analyst Ben Johnson (ben.johnson@house.mn.gov)
  - Date April 24, 2024

## **Summary**

## Section Description

## 1 Lost or stolen firearms.

Requires a person who owns, possesses, or controls a firearm to report a loss or theft of the firearm to law enforcement within 48 hours of the time the person knew, or reasonably should have known, of the loss or theft. Establishes that a first violation is a petty misdemeanor, a second violation is a misdemeanor, and additional violations are gross misdemeanors. Grants immunity from criminal firearm storage charges for those who comply with the reporting requirement. Requires chief law enforcement officers to inform the commissioner of public safety of all lost and stolen firearms reported pursuant to this section.

## 2 Department of Public Safety; appropriation.

Appropriates \$36,000 in fiscal year 2025 from the general fund to the commissioner of public safety for a reporting system to allow chiefs of police and sheriffs to report lost or stolen firearms.

Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document can be made available in alternative formats.