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Overview 

This bill makes a variety of changes to the laws about earned sick and safe time. 

Summary 

Section Description 

1 Penalty waiver. 

Bars the Department of Labor and Industry, until January 1, 2026, from imposing a 
monetary penalty on an employer for an initial violation of any requirement of the 
earned sick and safe time laws. 

2 Earned sick and safe time. 

Pays employees of small employers (those with no more than 25 employees) only 
half of their regular hourly rate for earned sick and safe time leave, instead of their 
full hourly rate. Makes providing earned sick and safe time voluntary for employers 
in their first 12-consecutive months of operation. 

3 Employee. 

Excludes from earned sick and safe time benefits: 

▪ Minors under the age of 18; 

▪ Employees who work an average of 25 hours or fewer per normal 
workweek; 

▪ Seasonal workers who work no more than 20 weeks per year; 

▪ Employees who work no more than 520 hours in a year; 

▪ Employees who work on a per diem or intermittent basis and who control 
when they work with no expectation of continuing employment; and 

▪ Owners and their family members. 
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Section Description 

4 Family member. 

Makes modifications to who qualifies as a family member for the purposes of taking 
earned sick and safe time. Excludes nieces, nephews, aunts, uncles, and in-laws, 
among others. 

5 Accrual of earned sick and safe time. 

Decreases the rate at which earned sick and safe time is accrued from one hour of 
leave for every 30 hours worked, to one hour for every 40 hours worked. Allows 
leave allowances for immediate use to be prorated for employees who begin work 
mid-year. Permits employers to impose a waiting period of up to 90 days before 
earned sick and safe time may be used. Reiterates that employees of small 
employers (those with no more than 25 employees) will be paid only half of their 
regular hourly rate for earned sick and safe time leave, instead of their full hourly 
rate. Repeats that providing earned sick and safe time is voluntary for employers in 
their first 12-consecutive months of operation. 

6 Notice. 

Requires employees to provide notice of an unforeseeable need for leave at least 
two hours before the employee is scheduled to work, unless the need arises while on 
the job. Allows pay to be withheld from an employee for leave for which the 
employer was not provided notice, unless (1) the employee was not provided with a 
copy of a written policy about giving notice; or (2) the leave was related to domestic 
abuse, sexual assault, or stalking. 

7 Documentation. 

Requires employers to have a reasonable written policy for how employees must 
document their need for leave and to provide the policy to every employee. Allows 
pay to be withheld from an employee who fails to provide documentation of their 
need for leave, unless the employee was not provided with a copy of that written 
policy. 

8 Notice and posting by employer. 

Bars the Department of Labor and Industry, until January 1, 2026, from imposing any 
monetary penalty for an initial violation of the requirement to give employees notice 
of their right to earned sick and safe time. 

 

 Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and 
information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document 
can be made available in alternative formats. 

www.house.mn.gov/hrd | 651-296-6753 | Third Floor, Centennial Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 


