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Overview 

H.F. 1384 expands Minnesota’s dependent care credit in several ways: 

▪ Increases the maximum credit rate to 50 percent. 

▪ Establishes a two-tier phaseout of the credit, with the first tier 
beginning at $125,000 of adjusted gross income (AGI) and the second 
tier beginning at $400,000. 

▪ Increase the maximum expenses eligible for the credit, for children 
ages 0-4. Under the bill, the maximum amount of expenses eligible for 
the credit would be increased to $10,000, $20,000, or $25,000, for 
taxpayers with one, two, or three children younger than 5. 

The bill additionally allows taxpayers who participate in a dependent care 

assistance program (dependent care FSA) to claim the credit, but requires an 

addition for dependent FSA contributions that were excluded from AGI. 

Under current law, the state credit is equal to the amount allowed under federal 

law. The combined effect of these changes is to decouple Minnesota from the 

federal credit calculation. 

Summary 

Section Description 

1 Dependent flexible spending accounts. 

Requires taxpayers who claim the Minnesota dependent care credit to add back any 
dependent care assistance (dependent FSA contributions) that are excluded from 
gross income federally. 

Effective beginning in tax year 2025. 

2 Amount of credit.  

Modifies the calculation of the state dependent care credit. Under current law, the 
state dependent care credit starts with the amount allowed federally. The bill 
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Section Description 

decouples Minnesota’s dependent care credit from the federal credit and establishes 
a state-specific calculation, equal to the taxpayer’s eligible expenses, as determined 
under subdivision 3, multiplied by the credit percentage determined under section 5. 

Strikes language deeming certain individuals to have child care expenses for the 
purpose of the credit—this language is moved to section 7. 

For nonresidents and part-year residents, requires the credit to be allocated based 
on the taxpayer’s residency percentage. Under current law, the credit is allocated 
based on the share of the taxpayer’s earned income that comes from Minnesota 
sources. 

Defines the terms “qualifying individual” and “employment-related expenses” by 
reference to the federal dependent care credit. Defines “young child” as a qualifying 
individual who is 0-4 years old at the end of the taxable year. 

3 Eligible dependent care expenses. 

Allows taxpayers with one qualifying individual to claim up to $3,000 of eligible 
dependent care expenses, and taxpayers with two or more qualifying individuals to 
claim up to $6,000 in eligible dependent care expenses.  

4 Eligible expenses for taxpayers with young children. 

Increases the amount of eligible expenses by $7,000, $14,000, or $19,000 for 
taxpayers with one, two, or three qualifying individuals (respectively) that were ages 
0-4 at the end of the taxable year. 

5 Credit percentage. 

Sets the credit percentage at 50 percent subject to an income-based phaseout 
beginning at $125,000 of AGI. 

The credit point is reduced by one percentage point for each $2,000 of AGI (or 
fraction of $2,000) above $125,000, until the credit percentage equals 20 percent. 
The 20 percent credit rate would apply until a taxpayer’s income exceeded $400,000. 
The rate would be further reduced by one percentage point for each $2,000 of 
income in excess of $400,000 of AGI, until the credit percentage reached zero 
percent. The credit would be fully phased out at $440,000 of AGI. 

6 Inflation adjustment. 

Sets the base year for the credit’s inflation adjustments to tax year 2025. 

7 Deemed expenses. 

Under current Minnesota law, certain taxpayers are deemed to have employment-
related expenses eligible for the dependent care credit. Under current law, deemed 
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Section Description 

expenses are assigned to taxpayers who operate a licensed family day care that their 
child attends, and taxpayers with children ages 0-4.  

The bill moves these existing provisions to a new subdivision, and makes two 
additional changes. First, for operators of a family day care, it sets the deemed 
amount for a child attending the day care at the amount the facility would normally 
charge for a child of a given age. Under current law, the deemed amount equals the 
maximum amount of expenses allowed under federal law ($3,000 per child). 

Second, for a child younger than 1, the bill sets the deemed amount to equal the 
maximum amount allowed for a child ages 0-4 ($10,000 for one child). 

8 Identifying information required. 

Moves language governing taxpayers who do not file a federal return from 
subdivision 1 to a new subdivision. The bill does not make a substantive change to 
this provision. 

Requires taxpayers to include the taxpayer identification number of a qualifying 
individual for whom the credit is claimed—this is consistent with current federal and 
state law for the dependent care credit. 

9 Employment-related expenses. 

Under current Minnesota and federal law, the dependent care credit is limited to the 
earned income of the taxpayer, or the earned income of the lesser-earning spouse 
(for a married taxpayer filing a joint return). H.F. 1384 decouples the state credit 
from the federal credit, meaning Minnesota would need to explicitly adopt any rules 
from the federal credit to include those rules in the new state credit. This section 
adopts the federal earned income limitations. 

Adopts section 21(e)(6) of the Internal Revenue Code governing the federal 
dependent care credit, which excludes from expenses eligible for the credit 
payments to dependents of the taxpayer or children 18 and younger.  

10 Rules for married couples filing separate returns. 

Limits the ability of married couples filing separate returns to claim the credit—only 
one spouse would be permitted to claim the credit.   
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