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Overview 

The juvenile court system addresses acts by juveniles that violate the law in two 

ways. If the juvenile is identified as being in need of protection or services, the 

juvenile’s behavior may be addressed through the child protection system. If the 

juvenile is identified as a delinquent child, the behavior may be addressed 

through the delinquency process. A child in the delinquency process may also be 

treated as a child in need of protection or services. 

Delinquency is similar to the adult criminal system and a juvenile must be 

competent in order to proceed through that system. There are 23 states that do 

not set a minimum age of delinquency and instead rely on a case-by-case 

competency determination. The remainder of the states establish a minimum age 

below which a juvenile cannot be considered delinquent and must only be 

treated as a child in need of protection or services. The lowest minimum age 

established by a state is seven (Florida) while the highest minimum age is 13 

(New Hampshire and Maryland). A juvenile over the minimum age must still be 

competent to proceed in the delinquency process, but a juvenile under that age 

cannot be treated as a delinquent child. 

Currently, Minnesota law sets ten years of age as the minimum age of 

delinquency. There are 15 other states that use that age (Arkansas, Arizona, 

Colorado, Connecticut, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, 

North Dakota, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, Vermont, and Wisconsin). In 

2024, the legislature amended Minnesota law. The change will increase the 

minimum age of delinquency to 13 on August 1, 2026. This bill would repeal that 

change. 
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Summary 

Section Description 

1 Delinquent child. 

Eliminates the change to the definition of “delinquent child” that is currently 
scheduled to go into effect on August 1, 2026. The change would increase the 
minimum age of delinquency from ten years old to 13 years old. 

2 Juvenile petty offender; juvenile petty offense. 

Eliminates the change to the definition of “juvenile petty offense” that is currently 
scheduled to go into effect on August 1, 2026. The change reflects the increase the 
minimum age of delinquency from ten years old to 13 years old. 

3 Child in need of protection or services. 

Eliminates the changes to the definition of “child in need of protection or services” 
that is currently scheduled to go into effect on August 1, 2026. The change would 
increase the maximum age at which a child could only be considered to be in need of 
services, as opposed to also being considered a delinquent, from ten years old to 13 
years old. 
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