House Research

Short Subjects

Jim Cleary and Jeff Diebel

ated: November 2010

Minnesota Firearms Law for Minors

General Requirements

Minors 13 years old and younger must be supervised when handling a firearm. At age 14 and 15, a minor may possess a shotgun or rifle without supervision if the minor has a firearms safety certificate. At age 16 and 17, a minor may possess a shotgun or rifle without supervision or a certificate. (Minn. Stat. § 97B.021, subd. 1)

A person under age 18 generally may not possess a *pistol or assault weapon* unless supervised (see below for exceptions). (Minn. Stat. § 624.713, subd. 1(1)) A person under the age of 21 may not obtain a permit to carry a pistol and may not use in Minnesota any concealed-carry permit issued by another state. (Minn. Stat. § 624.714, subd. 16)

Hunting Requirements

Minors 13 years old and younger must be accompanied by a parent or guardian when hunting. Youth are permitted to hunt alone beginning at age 14, provided the person possesses a firearms safety certificate. (Minn. Stat. § 97B.021)

Possession of Firearms

Shotguns and Rifles. Except when hunting, a minor under age 16 generally may not possess a shotgun or rifle without being accompanied by a parent or guardian. The primary exception is again for a 14- or 15-year-old who has a firearms safety certificate. Other exceptions include: when the minor is on a parent or guardian's residential property; when participating in supervised target shooting; and when participating in a firearms safety program. (Minn. Stat. § 97B.021)

Pistols and Assault Weapons. A minor under age 18 generally may not possess a pistol or assault weapon, except under the supervision of a parent or guardian. Other exceptions include: while engaged in an official military drill; during supervised practice at an approved shooting range; and while participating in a state-approved marksmanship or safety program. (Minn. Stat. § 624.713, subd. 1)

Penalties for Juvenile Firearms Offenses **Certification for Adult Court.** A juvenile court may order that a juvenile 14 years old or older be certified for trial in adult court, if the juvenile has committed any offense that would be a felony if committed by an adult. Furthermore, there is a presumption that a juvenile 16 or 17 years old will be certified to be tried as an adult if there is probable cause to believe that the juvenile used a firearm to commit the offense. A juvenile may rebut the presumption by clearly and convincingly demonstrating that retaining juvenile court jurisdiction serves public safety. (Minn. Stat. § 260B.125, subd. 3)

Possession During a Crime. If a juvenile is adjudicated delinquent and is found to have possessed a firearm when committing the offense, the court must order seizure of the firearm, and must also order the child to perform 100 hours of community service unless the court places the juvenile in a residential treatment program or a juvenile correctional facility. If a juvenile possesses a dangerous

weapon, including a firearm, when committing an offense on school property or in a school bus, the juvenile loses driving privileges until age 18. (Minn. Stat. § 260B.198, subd. 2)

Illegal Possession. If a juvenile under age 16 illegally possesses a firearm (e.g., a 14- or 15-year-old without a firearms safety certificate), the firearm will be seized by law enforcement and is subject to forfeiture. However, the juvenile may reclaim a seized rifle or shotgun by obtaining a firearms safety certificate within 90 days of the start of the next available firearms safety course in the county. (Minn. Stat. § 97B.021, subds. 2 and 3)

Crimes Relating to Minors and the Storage, Furnishing, and Display of Firearms **Negligent Storage.** It is generally a crime of child endangerment to negligently store or leave a loaded firearm in a location where the owner of the firearm should reasonably know that a child is likely to have access to it. (Minn. Stat. §§ 609.666, subd. 2; 609.378, subd. 1(c); and 624.7162, subd. 2)

Furnishing. It is a misdemeanor for a person to furnish a child under age 14 with a firearm or ammunition *outside of a municipality* without consent of a parent or guardian. The sentence is enhanced to a gross misdemeanor if the act occurs at or near a school, a park, or public housing property. *Within a municipality*, it is a felony to furnish a minor under the age of 18 with a firearm or ammunition without the consent of a parent, guardian, or the local police. (Minn. Stat. § 609.66, subd. 1(a)(6) and (b), and subd. 1b)

Display of Handgun Ammunition. Ammunition retailers may not display handgun ammunition in a manner that is directly accessible to minors under age 18. Violation is a petty misdemeanor. Ammunition in an enclosed display case or behind a counter is deemed inaccessible. There are exceptions for ammunition accessible to juvenile employees, ammunition under observation by employees, and ammunition displayed in an area where the store takes reasonable steps to exclude minors, as well as ammunition suitable for big game hunting. (Minn. Stat. § 609.663)

Schools

Firearms Possession at School. A pupil who brings a firearm to school must be expelled for at least one year. A school board can modify this expulsion requirement on a case-by-case basis. School boards must have policies to notify law enforcement officials when a pupil unlawfully brings a firearm to school. A pupil who brings a firearm to school will also generally be subject to a juvenile delinquency petition or adult criminal charges, depending on the circumstances. (Minn. Stat. § 121A.44)

Notifying Schools. A law enforcement agency must notify a juvenile's school when the agency has probable cause to believe the juvenile committed an offense involving a dangerous weapon, including a firearm. A juvenile's probation officer must give a copy of the juvenile's disposition order to the school if the juvenile is adjudicated delinquent for an act involving a dangerous weapon (including a firearm). (Minn. Stat. §§ 260B.171, subds. 3(a)(3) and 5(e); 609.02, subd. 6)

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Jim Cleary at jim.cleary@house.mn or 651-296-5053.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, legal, and information services to the entire House.