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districts and charter 
schools may offer 
K-12 students 
online courses and 
earn additional 
revenue 

Online learning 
providers must offer 
rigorous courses 
aligned with 
academic standards 
and provide teacher 
contact time 
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Online Learning Option Act 

The Online Learning Option Act (Minn. Stat. § 124D.095) allows Minnesota 
school districts, intermediate districts, school districts operating under a joint 
powers agreement, and charter schools to offer online courses for credit to 
Minnesota K-12 public school students and some nonpublic students.  Districts and 
charter schools providing online courses can earn additional state revenue for the 
online courses taken by students not enrolled in that district or charter school.  Aid 
paid to a district or charter school enrolling a student is reduced and paid to another 
district or charter school providing online learning courses outside the enrolling 
district or charter school. State payments for online learning were $10,249,000 in 
fiscal year 2006, $16,580,000 in fiscal year 2007, and $24,898,000 in fiscal year 
2008. 

Nonpublic school students, including homeschool students who receive core 
curriculum instruction at a public school site, can generate shared time aid for 
online courses if they use computers at the public school (districts that provide 
instruction in core curriculum at a public school building to nonpublic school 
students are eligible to receive shared time aid).   

Enrolling districts may proportionately reduce the classroom instruction of students 
taking online learning courses from an online learning provider.  Online learning 
providers may limit student enrollment based on locally adopted acceptance 
standards. Out-of-state and nonschool district vendors cannot be online learning 
providers but may help providers design online courses.  Districts and charter 
schools that provide online learning courses to their enrolled students do not 
receive online learning aid for those students.   

The state Department of Education must certify online learning providers and may 
charge providers a certification fee of up to $250.  Online learning providers must 
offer: 
•	 rigorous courses aligned with state academic standards that enable students 

to progress in a subject; 
•	 online courses with standards or instruction, curriculum, and assessment 

requirements equivalent to other courses offered to enrolled students; and 
•	 actual teacher contact time or other student-to-teacher communication. 

Certified providers may receive payment for all online courses they offer unless 
challenged by an enrolling district or the department.  The department must publish 
a list of certified online learning providers, courses, and programs. 

Students may take Minnesota K-12 public school students may apply to enroll in supplemental online 
up to 50 percent of learning courses offered in place of course periods during the regular school day or 
their courses per may apply to enroll full-time in an approved online learning program that offers 
term online comprehensive education and grade level advancement in some or all K-12 grades.  

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=124D.095
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Licensed Minnesota 
teachers deliver 
online learning 

Students who take supplemental online learning courses must meet the grade level 
and graduation requirements of their enrolling district, which must transfer any of 
the student’s earned academic credits for courses that meet or exceed local 
graduation standards and provide the student with nonacademic services.  Students 
who enroll full-time do so under the state’s open enrollment program or an 
agreement between school boards or in an online learning charter school. 

Students under 18 must have their parents’ permission to enroll and must give a 
reason for enrolling in online learning.  Students do not need the permission of 
their enrolling district or charter school to take online learning courses given by 
another district or charter school. Online learning providers that accept 
nonenrolled students must notify the students and the students’ enrolling district 
within ten days. The notice must include information about the online learning 
course content and assessment, academic credits, and start date, and confirm that 
the course meets the student’s graduation plan.  Accepted students and their 
parents must notify the online learning provider within ten days of the student’s 
intent to enroll and must affirm that they understand the expectations of the course 
or program.   

Enrolled students taking online learning courses:  
•	 may take up to 50 percent of their full schedule of courses per term; 
•	 must complete course work at a grade level commensurate with their 

ability; and 
•	 may enroll in additional online courses under a separate fee agreement. 

Students with disabilities may enroll in online courses consistent with their 
individualized education plan. 

Districts and charter schools cannot discriminate against students taking online 
courses and must provide such students with the same access to computer 
hardware and education software as all other students.  Online learning providers 
must help participating students whose families qualify for the education tax credit 
to acquire computer hardware and educational software.  Nonpublic school 
students, students taking summer school classes, students enrolling in classes 
beyond full-time status, and students not residing in Minnesota are ineligible for 
public funding of online learning courses and programs.  Students who do not 
qualify for public funding may enroll on a tuition basis with an online learning 
provider. 

Licensed Minnesota teachers must assemble and deliver instruction to students 
taking online learning courses. Teachers providing online learning instruction are 
limited to 40 students per course unless the commissioner of education waives this 
requirement.  Actual teacher contact time or other similar communication is an 
expected online learning component. 

For more information:  Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036.  
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