Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

RELEASE: House Republicans Announce Leadership Team

Tuesday, November 27, 2018

ST. PAUL, MN—House Republicans announced Tuesday their leadership team for the upcoming legislative session. House Republican Leader Kurt Daudt, R-Crown, elected by his colleagues to serve as leader earlier this month, appointed Rep. Anne Neu, R-North Branch, to serve as Deputy Republican Leader. Rep. Dan Fabian, R-Roseau, was elected Caucus Whip, and joins six other assistant leaders elected at Tuesday's meeting: Rep. Tony Albright, R-Prior Lake; Rep. Peggy Bennett, R-Albert Lea; Rep. Josh Heintzeman, R-Nisswa; Rep. Jon Koznick, R-Lakeville; Rep. Jim Nash, R-Waconia; and Rep. Peggy Scott, R-Andover.

"Rep. Neu has emerged as a leader in our caucus, and will be an effective communicator for our caucus priorities," Daudt said. "I'm thrilled that she was willing to step up to serve as our Deputy Leader, and know that she will bring the same energy and leadership to our team that she showed in her legislative work last session."

Rep. Anne Neu was first elected in a February 2017 special election. During her first term, Neu authored and passed "Little Alan's Law" that extends restrictions for drunk driving convictions to recreation vehicles like ATVs, snowmobiles, and jet-skis. She also chief authored and passed two other bills that passed the House and Senate unanimously and were signed into law by Governor Dayton. Neu lives in North Branch with her children. Her husband, Jon, passed away following a battle with ALS in 2016.

"I'm excited to join the House Republican leadership team, and to provide a positive contrast to the Democrats' agenda of higher taxes, runaway spending, and government health care schemes that will increase costs for families. Our leadership team is ready to stand up for Minnesotans and their pocketbooks next session."

Returning to the House Republican leadership team are Rep. Fabian, who served as an Assistant Majority Leader during the 2017-2018 session, and as majority whip during the 2015-2016 legislative sessions; Rep. Albright who served over the past two years as Speaker Pro Tempore; and Rep. Nash, who served as an Assistant Majority Leader.

"We have a great leadership team in place that will bring valuable experience and insight to the table as we look ahead to the 2019 session. Over the next two years, we will be strong voices for lowering health care costs, using our state's surplus for tax relief for families, and continuing to strengthen our state's economy," Daudt concluded.


Tagged Stories