Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Minnesota State Government Series

The nine-part series provides easy to understand information about the state, its history, its symbols and its three branches of government.

State Profile
Information on Minnesota's historical, political and economic background.

State Symbols
Stories about how Minnesota's 17 state symbols came to be.

State Counties
Stories about how Minnesota's 87 counties got their names.

State Lawmakers
Information on House and Senate members, and how the districts they represent are put together.

State Legislative Information
Explains how to find information, follow legislation and be involved in the lawmaking process. This piece includes useful tips on contacting legislators by phone, email or mail.

State Law Process
A step-by-step explanation of how a bill goes through the process to become law. It includes a question and answer section about parliamentary procedures.

U.S. Congress
Information about Minnesota's congressional delegation in Washington, D.C.

State Constitution
Explains the history behind the state constitution's development and the articles that are laid out in the document.

The Three Branches of Government
A simple breakdown of the roles of each of the three branches of government the executive, legislative and judicial as established by the state constitution.

The Minnesota State Government Series are posted as Portable Document Format (PDF) files. To view PDF files, you will need the free Adobe Acrobat Reader. Adobe also provides free accessibility tools for screen reader access.