Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Energy Finance and Policy Division

Sixth Meeting

2007-2008 Regular Session - Wednesday, January 31, 2007

State of Minnesota Sixth Meeting
House of Representatives Eighty-Fifth Session

Energy Finance and Policy Division


Representative Bill Hilty, Chair, called the sixth meeting to order at 2:20 PM on January 31, 2007 in Room 200 of the State office Building.

The Clerk noted the roll.

Members present:

Hilty, Bill
Ruud, Maria
Westrom, Torrey
Beard, Michael
Bly, David
Brynaert, Kathy
Gardner, Paul
Gunther, Bob
Hackbarth, Tom
Hoppe, Joe
Johnson, Sheldon
Kalin, Jeremy
Knuth, Kate
Magnus, Doug
Nornes, Bud
Ozment, Dennis
Peterson, Aaron
Sailer, Brita
Slocum, Linda
Wagenius, Jean
Welti, Andy

A quorum was present.

Representative Bly moved approval of the minutes from the January 29, 2007. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Overview of CapX 2020:

Terry Grove, Co-Executive Director of Regional Transmission Development, CapX 2020, 763-241-2246.

H.F. 4 (Peterson, A.): Renewable energy standard established.

Representative Peterson moved that H.F. 4 be recommended to pass and referred to the General Register.

Representative Peterson presented H.F. 4.

Testifying in favor of the bill:

Michael Noble, Executive Director, Fresh Energy, 651-226-7563. Spoke on behalf of Clean Energy Minnesota
John Dunlop, Technical Outreach Representative, American Wind Energy Association, 612-377-3270.
Doug Fredrickson, V.P. of Energy, DH Blattner and Sons Construction, Avon, MN, 320-356-7351.
Charlie Olson, United Steelworkers, 218-744-2757.
Jerry Fallos, Blue Green Alliance, 218-744-2757.
Brent Bergland, Director of Business Development, M.A. Mortenson Company, 763-287-5644.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:45 PM.

Representative Bill Hilty, Chair

Committee Legislative Assistant
More Info On This Meeting..
House TV Video:
View Archive

03:17 - Gavel.
04:27 - Continuing testimony on Minnesota's transmission system.
16:58 - HF4 (Peterson, A.) Renewable energy standard established.
Runs 1 hour, 26 minutes.

Continuing testimony on Minnesota's transmission system.
HF4 (Peterson, A.) Renewable energy standard established.