Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Health and Human Services Finance


2013-2014 Regular Session - Tuesday, March 12, 2013



Thomas E. Huntley, Chair

Chair Thomas Huntley called to order the forty-second meeting of the Health Care and Human Services Finance Committee at 10:09 a.m. in Room 200 of the State Office Building on Wednesday, March 12, 2014. A quorum was present. The committee legislative assistant noted the roll:

Members Present:

Rep. Thomas Huntley, Chair
Rep. Jim Abeler
Rep. Susan Allen
Rep. Matt Dean
Rep. Peter Fischer
Rep. Patti Fritz
Rep. Glenn Gruenhagen
Rep. Laurie Halverson
Rep. Melissa Hortman
Rep. Carolyn Laine
Rep. Tina Liebling
Rep. Diane Loeffler
Rep. Tara Mack
Rep. Rena Moran
Rep. Jerry Newton
Rep. Duane Quam
Rep. Joe Schomacker
Rep. Nick Zerwas

Members Excused:

Rep. Joe McDonald
Rep. Kim Norton, Vice Chair

Representative Dean moved approval of the minutes from March 6 and March 11, 2014. The motion prevailed.

H.F. 2067 (Johnson, C.) - Minnesota Security Hospital, St. Peter phase 1 renovation and construction project funding provided, bonds issued, and money appropriated.

Representative Abeler moved H.F. 2067 be re-referred to the Capital Investment Committee and Representative C. Johnson gave an overview of the bill. Also testifying in favor of the bill were:

Chuck Johnson, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Human Services
Allen Banbuskirk, Facilities Director, Department of Human Services
Matt Burdick, Grassroots Advocacy Director, for NAMI-MN

Following discussion, Chair Huntley renewed the motion to re-refer H.F. 2067 to the Capital Investment Committee. The motion prevailed.

H.F. 1224 (Persell) - Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe ambulance service grant funding provided, and money appropriated.

Chair Huntley moved H.F. 1224 before the committee. Representative Persell moved adoption of an oral amendment as follows:

Line 1.8, delete “Safety” and insert “Primary Care”

March 12, 2014
Page 2

The motion prevailed. The oral amendment was adopted. Following testimony from Buck McAlpin, North Memorial Health Care, Chair Huntley laid the bill over, as amended, for possible inclusion in the Health and Human Services Finance omnibus bill.

H.F. 1831, the 1st Engrossment (Fritz) - Medical assistance coverage modified to include consultations with licensed independent clinical social workers and licensed marriage and family therapists.

Representative Fritz moved the bill before the committee and gave an overview. Testifying was:

Bill Strusinski, Minnesota Society for Clinical Social Work
Henry Erdman, Minnesota Association of Marriage and Family Therapists
Patrick Hultman, Department of Human Services

Following testimony, Chair Huntley laid the bill over for possible inclusion in the Health and Human Services Finance omnibus bill.

H.F. 1295 (Fritz) - Nursing facility level of care modified to prevent seniors currently enrolled in the elderly waiver program from losing coverage.

Representative Fritz moved the bill before the committee and moved adoption of the DE-1 amendment. Testifying in support were:

Mary Jo George, AARP
Anne Henry, Minnesota Disability Law Center
Jean Wood, Department of Human Services

Following testimony and discussion, Representative Fritz renewed her motion that H.F. 1295, as amended by the DE-1 amendment, be laid over for possible inclusion in the Health and Human Services Finance omnibus bill. The motion prevailed. The Chair laid the bill over, as amended.

The meeting adjourned at 10:57 a.m.

Thomas E. Huntley, Chair

Jan Horner, Committee Legislative Assistant

More Info On This Meeting..
  • - 3/8/2013

HF139 (Nornes) Otter Tail County; nursing facility payment rate increase provided.
HF375 (Erickson) Nursing facility rate increase provided for.
Office of the Legislative Auditor’s (OLA) report- Medical Assistance Payment Rates for Dental Services.
HF176 (Norton) Dental services for the disabled expanded.
HF408 (Norton) Dental reimbursement provisions modified. (May be moved to Wed. March 13)
To sign up to testify, please contact the Committee Administrator Lucy Morgan at