Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Climate and Energy Finance and Policy


2021-2022 Regular Session - Thursday, January 21, 2021



Representative Jamie Long, Chair of the Committee on Climate and Energy Finance and Policy, called the virtual meeting to order at 10:30 AM on January 21st, 2021 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:
Long, Jamie, Chair
Acomb, Patty, Vice Chair
Swedzinski, Chris, Republican Lead
Bierman, Robert
Boe, Greg
Christensen, Shelly
Franson, Mary
Gruenhagen, Glenn
Hollins, Athena
Hornstein, Frank
Igo, Spencer
Lee, Fue
Lippert, Todd
Lislegard, Dave
Mekeland, Shane
Munson, Jeremy
Stephenson, Zack

Vice Chair Acomb moved that the minutes of January 19, 2021, be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Bills not introduced at the time of the meeting are indicated by the House Research or Revisor code.

House Research BE019 (Long) 100% Clean Energy Standard

Testifying on House Research BE019:
• Grace Arnold, Temporary Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Commerce
• Dr. Amol Phadke, Energy Analysis and Environmental Impacts Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
• Michael Noble, Executive Director, Fresh Energy

Public Testimony:
• Jessica Tritsch, Senior Campaign Representative, Sierra Club North Star Chapter
• Kevin Pranis, Marketing Manager, LiUNA
• Rob Scott-Hovland, Missouri River Energy Services
• Andrew Davis, Community Connector, Minnesota Interfaith Power and Light
• Jim Falk, LSP Member, Swift County Crop Farmer
• Marco Hernandez, Public Policy Director, COPAL MN
• Meghan Hassett, Union of Concerned Scientists Midwest Clean Energy Advocate
• Linda Herron, Duluth resident
• Carsten Finholt, Sunrise Movement
• Kelsey Johnson, President, Iron Mining Association
• Isaac Orr, Policy Fellow, American Experiment
• Benjamin Stafford, Director of Government Affairs, Clean Energy Economy MN
• Ken Brown, Olmsted County, Minnesota Resource Recovery Association
• Mike Birkeland, Executive VP, Minnesota Forest Industries
• Peter Teigland, Policy Associate, MnSEIA
• Rick Evans, Director of Regional Government Affairs, Xcel Energy
• Julie Pierce, Vice President of Strategy and Planning, Minnesota Power
• Greg Padden, Director of Contracts and Markets, Great River Energy
• Kära Josephson, Legislative Director, Minnesota Center for Environmental Advocacy
• Annie Levenson-Falk, Executive Director, Citizens Utility Board
• Joel Johnson, Staff Attorney, Minnkota Power Cooperative
• Jose Alvillar, Lead Organizer, Unidos
• Chris McConn, Executive Director, Prairie Lakes Municipal Solid Waste Authority
• Darrick Moe, CEO, Minnesota Rural Electric Association
• Dr. Steve Jorissen, Northeast Metro Climate Action

The meeting was adjourned at 12:00 PM.

Representative Jamie Long, Chair

Mike Hermanson, Committee Legislative Assistant

More Info On This Meeting..
House TV Video:
View Archive

01:44 - HFXXXX - 100% Clean Energy Standard.
Runs 1 hour 30 minutes.

HF XXX - 100% Clean Energy Standard
*No official action will be taken
*Language will be posted prior to the hearing

This remote hearing is taking place pursuant to Rule 10.01.

This remote hearing may be viewed via the House webcast schedule page:

Note: HTV 1 and HTV 2 will provide live closed captioning. Video archives of meetings streamed on HTV 3, 4, and 5 will have closed captions added. Other reasonable accessibility accommodations may be made with advance notice.

If you have questions about the accessibility of remote hearings or require an accommodation, please contact Jenny Nash at: or by leaving a message at 651-296-4122. Do not contact Jenny about the content of this meeting.

Public Testimony:
• Members of the public with questions about this process or who are interested in testifying must email by 3:00 p.m. the day before the meeting to ensure consideration. Testimony may be limited due to time constraints.
• If you plan to submit written testimony, please send it to by 3:00 p.m. the day before the meeting.

Meeting documents will be posted on the committee website: