Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Climate and Energy Finance and Policy


2021-2022 Regular Session - Wednesday, April 7, 2021



Representative Jamie Long, Chair of the Committee on Climate and Energy Finance and Policy, called the virtual meeting to order at 10:30 AM on April 7th, 2021 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:
Long, Jamie, Chair
Acomb, Patty, Vice Chair
Swedzinski, Chris, Republican Lead
Bierman, Robert
Boe, Greg
Christensen, Shelly
Franson, Mary
Gruenhagen, Glenn
Hollins, Athena
Hornstein, Frank
Igo, Spencer
Lee, Fue
Lippert, Todd
Lislegard, Dave
Mekeland, Shane
Stephenson, Zack

Munson, Jeremy

A quorum was present.

Representative Long handed the gavel to Representative Acomb at 10:32am.

Public Testimony on HF2110:
• Grace Arnold, temp. Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Commerce
• Will Seuffert, Executive Director, Minnesota Public Utilities Commission
• Roslyn Robertson, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
• Adam Hanson, Associated Builders and Contractors of MN/ND
• Dr. Jeremy Martin, Director of Fuels Policy, Union of Concerned Scientists
• Benjamin A. Stafford, Director of Government Affairs, Clean Energy Economy Minnesota
• Chris McConn, Solid Waste Director, Otter Tail County
• Justin Fay, Director Public Affairs, Fresh Energy
• Jamie Fitzke, Legislative Policy Manager, Center for Energy and Environment
• Braden Solum, Vice President of Business Development, Ideal Energies
• Bree Halverson, Regional Program Manager, BlueGreen Alliance
• Shane A. Zahrt, Coalition of Utility Cities
• Annie Levenson-Falk, Executive Director, Citizens Utility Board
• Dr. Mike Menzel, Health Professionals for a Healthy Climate
• Mark Kalar, Architect, AIA Minnesota
• Sam Benson, Minnesota Interfaith Power and Light
• Rob Christensen, Saint Paul
• Peter Wagenius, Sierra Club
• Ellen Anderson, Climate & Energy Program Director, MCEA
• Sara Wolff, Advocacy Director, Minnesota Environmental Partnership
• Andy Goke, Apadana Technology
• Reed Richerson, Chief Operating Officer, US Solar
• Cindy Steinhauser, Community Development, City of Rochester
• David Shaffer, Executive Director, MnSEIA
• Eric Pasi, Impact Power Solutions
• Brendan Jordan, Drive Electric

The meeting was adjourned at 12:01 PM.

Representative Jamie Long, Chair

Mike Hermanson, Committee Legislative Assistant
More Info On This Meeting..
Bills Added:
House TV Video:
View Archive

02:16 - HF2110 (Long) Omnibus climate and energy finance and policy bill.
- Public testimony.
Runs 1 hour, 31 minutes.

HF 2110 (Long) Omnibus Climate and Energy Finance and Policy Bill
-The DE amendment for HF 2110, the Omnibus Climate and Energy Finance and Policy Bill, will be posted on or before Monday, April 5th.
-Walkthrough of the DE amendment and member discussion will take place on Tuesday, April 6th.
-Amendments will be due on Wednesday, April 7th at 3 p.m.
-Public testimony will be taken on Wednesday, April 7th.
-Formal committee action will be taken on Thursday, April 8th.
-If necessary the committee will meet on Friday, April 9th to finish amendments.
*Bills may be added to the agenda

This remote hearing is taking place pursuant to Rule 10.01.

This remote hearing may be viewed via the House webcast schedule page:

Note: HTV 1 and HTV 2 will provide live closed captioning. Video archives of meetings streamed on HTV 3, 4, and 5 will have closed captions added. Other reasonable accessibility accommodations may be made with advance notice.

If you have questions about the accessibility of remote hearings or require an accommodation, please contact Jenny Nash at: or by leaving a message at 651-296-4122. Do not contact Jenny about the content of this meeting.

Public Testimony:
• Members of the public who are interested in testifying must email by 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, April 6th.
• If you plan to submit written testimony, please send it to

Meeting documents will be posted on the committee website: