Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Energy Finance and Policy Division

Seventh Meeting

2007-2008 Regular Session - Monday, February 5, 2007

State of Minnesota Seventh Meeting
House of Representatives Eighty-Fifth Session

Energy Finance and Policy Division


Representative Bill Hilty, Chair, called the seventh meeting to order at 2:19 PM on February 5, 2007 in Room 200 of the State office Building.

The Clerk noted the roll.

Members present:

Hilty, Bill
Ruud, Maria
Westrom, Torrey
Beard, Michael
Bly, David
Brynaert, Kathy
Gardner, Paul
Gunther, Bob
Hackbarth, Tom
Hoppe, Joe
Johnson, Sheldon
Kalin, Jeremy
Knuth, Kate
Magnus, Doug
Nornes, Bud
Ozment, Dennis
Peterson, Aaron
Sailer, Brita
Slocum, Linda
Wagenius, Jean
Welti, Andy

A quorum was present.

Representative Gardener moved approval of the minutes of January 31, 2007. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF4 (Peterson, A.): Renewable energy standard established.

We continued to hear testimony on HF4.

Testifying in favor of the bill:

Lynn Hinkle, United Autoworkers, UAW Local 879, 3638 11th Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55404.
Duane Ninneman, CURE (Clean Up the River Environment), P.O. Box 154, Ortonville, MN 56278.
Doug Peterson, Minnesota Farmers Union, 651-639-1223.
Gary Wilson, Minnesota Farmers Union, 134 246th St, Odin, MN 56160.

Testifying against the bill:

Mike Franklin, Director, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce, 385 Pond Ct., Maplewood, MN 55119, 651-292-4661.
Bob Ambrose, Manager, Government Affairs, Great River Energy, PO Box 800 Elk River, MN 55330-0800, 763-241-2297.
Margaret Hodnik, Director, Regulatory and Public Affairs, Minnesota Power, 30 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55811, 218-723-3966.
Greg Oxley, Legislative Director, Minnesota Municipal Utilities Association, 3025 Harbor Lane, Plymouth, MN 55447, 763-746-0701.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:53 PM.

Representative Bill Hilty, Chair

Committee Legislative Assistant
More Info On This Meeting..
House TV Video:
View Archive

02:55 - Gavel.
04:35 - Continued discussion of HF4 (Peterson, A.) Renewable energy standard established.
Runs 1 hour, 34 minutes.

Continued HF4 (Peterson, A.) Renewable energy standard established.