Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Health Finance and Policy


2023-2024 Regular Session - Wednesday, March 29, 2023




Representative Liebling, Chair of the Committee, called the meeting to order at 10:31 A.M. on March 29, 2023 in Room 5 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:
LIEBLING, Tina, Chair
BIERMAN, Robert, Vice-Chair
SCHOMACKER, Joe, Minority Lead
ACOMB, Patty
BAHNER, Kristin
HER, Kaohly Vang
QUAM, Duane

Members excused:
KIEL, Debra

A quorum was present.

H2930DE1 to HF2930 (Liebling) INFORMATIONAL ONLY Department of Health entities funding provided; methods to reduce health care organization, group purchaser, and low-value care spending identified; advisory councils, committees, and grant programs established; lead testing and service line requirements modified; COVID-19 programs established; and money appropriated.

Testimony from Department Commissioners:
1. Commissioner Brooke Cunningham, Department of Health
2. Commissioner Jodi Harpstead, Department of Human Services

Public Testimony:
1. Elena Niehoff, Advocate
2. Rae Parker, Advocate
3. Sue Abderholden, Executive Director, NAMI Minnesota
4. Dr. Jessica Miehe, Board Member, Clinic Founder, Associate Professor of Nursing, Minnesota School-Based Health Alliance
5. Justin Stofferahn, Antimonopoly Director, Minnesota Farmers Union
6. Gerilyn Hausback, Reproductive Health Alliance Board Member and Executive Director, My Health
7. Betty Emarita, Chair, Community Solutions Fund Advisory Council
8. Dr. Meghan Walsh, Chief Academic Officer, Metro Minnesota Council on Graduate Medical Education
9. Terri L Wilder, Chair, #MEAction MN
10. Travis Butchello, Director of Government Affairs, Healthcare Distribution Alliance
11. Mike Opat, Chief Business Development and Community Relations Officer, North Memorial Health
12. Natasha Chernyavsky, Legislative and Policy Specialist, Citizens' Council for Health Freedom
13. Anna Odegaard, Director, Minnesota Asset Building Coalition
14. Bentley Graves, Policy Director, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce
15. Dave Renner, Director of Advocacy, Minnesota Medical Association
16. Julianne Zuehlke, Advocate
17. MariBeth Olson, Vice President of Acute Care Nursing Operations, Allina Health?
18. Adam Karlen, Clinical Nursing Director for Critical Care, Park Nicollet Methodist Hospital
19. Mary Krinkie, Vice President of Government Relations, Minnesota Hospital Association
20. Angela Fields, Associate Director, Minnesota Community Health Worker Alliance
21. Jay McLaren, Vice President of Public Policy and Government Relations, Medica
22. Dr. Ryan Kelly, Director of Addiction Medicine, University of Minnesota Medical Center
23. Marco Loera Alvarez, Leader, Unidos
24. Maggee Hangge, Policy Associate, Minnesota Catholic Conference
25. Dan Murphy, Government Affairs Manager, Minnesota Dental Association
26. Edward Krumpotich, Consultant, Drug Policy Alliance
27. Cathy Blaeser, Co-Executive Director, Minnesota Citizens Concerned for Life
28. Ryan Gilbertson, Lobbyist, JKM Consulting
29. Dan Endreson, Senior Director of Government Affairs, Minnesota Council of Health Plans
30. Ruben Moore, Chief Executive Officer, Minnesota Association of Community Health Centers
31. Julie Sjordal, Chief Executive Officer, St David’s Center for Child & Family Development
32. Tom Lehman, President, The Lehman Group
33. Julie Ellis, Human Services Director, Minnesota Inter-County Association/ Minnesota Association of County Social Service Administrators
34. Joel Ulland, Vice President of Public Affairs, UCARE.
35. Leigh Grauman, Director of Training and Policy, Portico Healthnet
36. Jill King, Executive Director, Lakes Life Care Center
37. Debra Patzner, Advocate
38. Naomi Sailor, Advocate
39. Dr. Brooke Hendricks, Internal Medicine Department, Hennepin Healthcare
40. Rev. Alfred Babington-Johnson, Starstep
41. Lin Nelson, Director of Legislative Affairs, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota
42. Carrie Meyers, Executive Director, Choices Pregnancy Center
43. Carrie Mortrud, Nurse Staffing Specialist, Minnesota Nurses Association
44. Mark Hughes, Advocate
45. Rick Varco, Political Director, SEIU Healthcare Minnesota and Iowa
46. Shannah Mulvihill, Executive Director, Mental Health Minnesota
47. Darlene M. Kopesky, Executive Director, Cradle of Hope
48. Rachel Copeland-Nunn, Advocate, Options for Women East
49. Jinny Palen, Executive Director, Minnesota Association of Community Mental Health Programs
50. Deborah Juda, Nurse Practitioner, UnRestrict Minnesota
51. Megan Peterson, Executive Director, Gender Justice
52. Nasra Hussein, Manager, Children’s Dental Services
53. Anne Fredrickson, Executive Director, Alpha Women’s Center
54. John Tribbett, Service Area Director, Avivo
55. Michelle SanCartier, Director of Public Policy and Advocacy, Minnesota Social Service Association
56. Robert Heider, Legislative Director, TakeAction Minnesota
57. Shayla Walker, Executive Director, Our Justice

The meeting was adjourned at 12:34 P.M.

Representative Tina Liebling, Chair

Krysta Niedernhöfer, Committee Legislative Assistant
More Info On This Meeting..
Bills Added:
  • HF2930 (Liebling) - Health finance bill.
House TV Video:
View Archive

00:35 - HF2930 (Liebling) Health and Human Services finance bill (as amended by the DE amendment).
-- Public testimony.
Runs 2 hours, 3 minutes.

Public testimony on Health Finance & Policy budget omnibus and DE amendment.

No formal action will be taken.

PUBLIC TESTIMONY: If you would like to submit written testimony or sign up to testify, please contact the Committee Administrator at Testifiers must contact the Committee Administrator by 5pm the day prior to the hearing in order to sign up to testify in person. In person testimony may be limited as time allows. Written testimony is preferred, and should be submitted by 5pm the day prior, in Word or PDF format.

Remote or virtual testimony is not available.

To learn more about requesting an accommodation, please visit the FAQs for Disability Access. If you have further questions on accommodations or accessibility, please contact the Committee Administrator.