Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Melissa Hortman (DFL)

Back to profile

Minnesota House DFL re-elects Rep. Melissa Hortman Speaker-designate, elects Rep. Jamie Long Majority Leader

Thursday, November 10, 2022

St. Paul, Minnesota — The Minnesota House DFL re-elected state Representative Melissa Hortman Speaker-designate at their organizational caucus this evening. Representative Jamie Long was elected Majority Leader. Representative Athena Hollins was elected Majority Whip. 

“I am honored to have the support of my colleagues to continue serving as Speaker of the House,” said Speaker Hortman. “The Minnesota House DFL Majority is looking forward to working with Governor Walz and the incoming Senate DFL majority to protect reproductive freedom, invest in our public schools, make health care more affordable, and to build an economy that works better for everyone. We are ready to get to work to build a better future for all Minnesotans.”

“I am grateful to my colleagues for trusting me with this leadership role,” said Rep. Long. “We have an incredible opportunity to respond to the pressing needs of Minnesotans and improve lives.”

Speaker Hortman has served as Speaker since 2019. She was first elected in 2004.

Rep. Long represents parts of Minneapolis and was first elected in 2018. 

Rep. Hollins represents parts of St. Paul and was first elected in 2020. 

The DFL majority will consist of 70 members, pending two recounts in Districts 3A and 3B.