Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Ron Kresha (R)

Back to profile

RELEASE: Kresha receives 2014 Tekne Award for Public Service

Monday, November 17, 2014
ST. PAUL, MN—Representative Ron Kresha, R-Little Falls, was honored Thursday, November 13, 2014 at the Tekne Awards Gala hosted by the Minnesota High Tech Association (MHTA) with a 2014 Tekne Award for Public Service. Representative Kresha, who was elected to a second term earlier this month, focused a great deal on broadband technology expansion during his first term. MHTA highlighted a bill co-authored by Representative Kresha to fund broadband service mapping, calling it a "critical piece of identifying and filling gaps in Minnesota's broadband service."
"I'm grateful to be recognized by the Minnesota High Tech Association with a Tekne Award for Public Service," Kresha said. "Broadband technology expansion is critical to improving technology innovation for our students, businesses, and all Minnesotans. If Minnesota is going to become the Midwest economic engine, we need to make sure we have a strong broadband infrastructure"
Other recipients of Tekne Awards this year included innovative companies who specialize in Advanced Manufacturing, Agriculture and Food, Collaboration for Community Impact, Cyber Security, Education Technology, Energy, Healthcare, IT Services, and Workforce Development. From left to right, other Public Service Award winners pictured include Representative Ann Lenczewski, DFL-Bloomington, Minority Leader-elect Representative Paul Thissen, DFL-Minneapolis, and Senator David Tomassoni, DFL-Chisholm. Senator Rod Skoe, DFL-Clearbrook, also received an award but was not present for the award ceremony.
The Minnesota High Tech Association includes more than 350 companies, education institutions, government agencies, and other organizations who work on technology issues. The Association is lead by former DFL House Speaker Margaret Anderson-Kelliher who serves as the group's President and CEO.