Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Ruth Richardson (DFL)

Back to profile

Workforce Development Finance and Policy Committee passes Paid Family and Medical Leave legislation

Wednesday, January 25, 2023

Saint Paul, Minn. — Today, the Minnesota House Workforce Development Finance and Policy Committee passed HF 2, a bill designed to provide Minnesota workers. The bill passed the committee and now awaits a vote on the House floor.  

Rep. Ruth Richardson (DFL – Mendota Heights) is the chief author of the bill. 

“It is important Minnesota families and workers have access to Paid Family and Medical Leave because we value people’s humanity,” said Rep. Richardson. “We should have a universal solution that doesn’t dictate the quality of life based on, who you are, who you look like, who you love, where you live, or what your title is. All workers will benefit from Paid Family and Medical Leave because all workers will eventually face a time when they will need to care for themselves or their families. ”  

Every day in Minnesota, workers face the impossible choice of either going to work to earn a paycheck or staying home to take care of themselves or a sick family member. While some workers have jobs that provide paid sick leave, legislation on the issue is lacking, leaving thousands of Minnesotans without access to a single paid day off. Those in the lowest wage positions and our BIPOC community members face stark disparities. Paid Family and Medical Leave, also known as “Earned Sick and Safe Time,” will empower workers to take the time they deserve to focus on their wellness, without having to worry about their paychecks.  

During the COVID-19 pandemic’s darkest days, we saw just how important it is for people to stay home when they’re sick. As we return to normal life, DFLers are ready to ensure no Minnesotans have that ability as part of state law.  

With a vote of 7-5, HF 2 has been motioned to be referred to the Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Committee.