Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Hodan Hassan (DFL)

Back to profile

Minneapolis Delegation statement on Minnesota Department of Human Rights findings of racial discrimination within MPD

Wednesday, April 27, 2022

St. Paul, MN - Today, the Minnesota Department of Human Rights announced the findings from its investigation into the City of Minneapolis and the Minneapolis Police Department (MPD).

The investigation found that the City and MPD engaged in a pattern or practice of race discrimination in violation of the Minnesota Human Rights Act.

The Minneapolis Delegation in the Minnesota House released the following joint statement:

“Today’s findings have shown what many in our community have known for a long time - there is a systemic and deeply harmful pattern of human rights violations perpetrated by MPD. These practices do not make our communities safer, and do real damage to Black, Indigenous, and Minnesotans of color in our city.  

“We thank the Department of Human Rights for their excellent work in thoroughly investigating and documenting the pattern of race-based policing in all aspects of interactions with MPD and people of color in our city. MPD will not make the progress required without outside oversight and accountability. This is an urgent call for action and leadership, which must lead to meaningful, system-wide change.

“A spotlight continues to be on Minneapolis, not for all the things that make our city great, but for the failings of those meant to protect our neighbors. In our positions, we will continue to push for the necessary reforms to implement accountability, empower marginalized communities, and repair trust with residents.”

The Minneapolis Delegation, all members of the DFL, includes Rep. Fue Lee (59A), Rep. Esther Agbaje (59B), Rep. Sydney Jordan (60A), Rep. Mohamud Noor (60B), Rep. Frank Hornstein (61A), Rep. Jamie Long (61B), Rep. Hodan Hassan (62A), Rep. Aisha Gomez (62B), Rep. Jim Davnie (63A), and Rep. Emma Greenman (63B).