Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Athena Hollins (DFL)

Back to profile

RELEASE: House POCI Caucus Statement Condemning Anti-Muslim Attacks Against Congresswoman Omar

Monday, December 6, 2021

St. Paul, Minnesota — It was recently revealed that Congresswoman Lauren Boebert (GOP - Colorado) made a series of disparaging and islamophobic attacks against Congresswoman Ilhan Omar (D - Minnesota). These racist attacks have led to a dangerous increase in right-wing threats perpetuated against Rep. Omar as well as calls from several House Democrats for Rep. Boebert to be removed from committees. The Minnesota House People of Color and Indigenous (POCI) Caucus released the following statement on these despicable attacks:

These vile and dangerous attacks brought against Rep. Omar can not be tolerated. We condemn these statements in their entirety with the fullness of our being. This racist rhetoric has become increasingly accepted among GOP politicians, leading to record hate crimes across our nation. Rep. Boebert’s remarks are so far beyond the pale that it is shocking she has not been condemned by the entirety of her party’s members.

“It is critical that the condemnation of this violent rhetoric go beyond our partisan divisions. That is why we call on the entirety of the Minnesota Congressional Delegation to stand with their colleague, and fellow Minnesotan, in condemning these heinous attacks. We also implore the Minnesota House and Senate GOP to send a unified message from their entire caucus condemning this dangerous rhetoric. 

“If we are to see meaningful healing and restoration of trust, we must witness a willingness to expel these dangerous and malignant actors from within the GOP party. We look forward to seeing strong condemnation of these attacks and intolerance of future islamophobia.”

The House People of Color & Indigenous (POCI) Caucus includes Reps. Esther Agbaje (59B), Jamie Becker-Finn (42B), Cedrick Frazier (45A), Aisha Gomez (62B), Hodan Hassan (Vice- Chair 62A), Kaohly Her (64A), Athena Hollins (66B), Fue Lee (59A), Carlos Mariani (65B), Rena Moran (65A), Mohamud Noor (60B), Ruth Richardson (52B), Samantha Vang (Chair, 40B), Jay Xiong (67B), Tou Xiong (53B)