Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Josh Heintzeman (R)

Back to profile

RELEASE: LCCMR Allocates $4 Million for National Loon Center

Friday, July 20, 2018

NISSWA & AITKIN, MN—Rep. Josh Heintzeman, R-Nisswa, Chair of the Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources (LCCMR), and Rep. Dale Lueck, R-Aitkin, issued the following statements regarding today's news that the LCCMR has allocated $4 million for the proposed National Loon Center in Crosslake, Minnesota. The center will work to restore and protect loon habitats, promote and enhance outdoor recreation, and be a leader in research and education related to migratory wildlife. Once completed, the center will rely on gift and admission sales, educational programming and donations to fund operations.

"The National Loon Center will be a tremendous asset to our community, and I want to thank the members of the LCCMR for their support for this project that will protect and promote our state bird," Lueck said. "This will be a destination for thousands of Minnesotans each year, and help drive additional tourism dollars to our district, in particular, Crosslake and the surrounding area."

"I want to thank Rep. Dale Lueck for his leadership to help bring the National Loon Center one step closer to reality," Rep. Heintzeman said. "His leadership was critical in securing LCCMR funds and making the state a partner in this project."

According to the LCCMR homepage, "the LCCMR is made up of 17 members: 5 Senators, 5 Representatives, 5 citizens appointed by the governor, 1 citizen appointed by the Senate, and 1 citizen appointed by the House. The function of the LCCMR is to make funding recommendations to the legislature for special environment and natural resource projects, primarily from the Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund (ENRTF)." The ENRTF is made up primarily of funds from lottery proceeds as part of a constitutional amendment approved by voters in 1988.