Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Cheryl Youakim (DFL)

Back to profile

RELEASE: Youakim selected as League of Minn. Cities’ ‘Legislator of Distinction’

Monday, August 6, 2018

ST. PAUL – State Rep. Cheryl Youakim (DFL – Hopkins) has been chosen by the League of Minnesota Cities as a Legislator of Distinction for her work to aid the efforts of cities during the 2018 session. This is the fourth consecutive year the League has bestowed this award upon her.


"As a policymaker, I always think about what the folks in our local communities value as well as what their city councils need to do their jobs," said Rep. Youakim. "That is why I am grateful to the League of Minnesota Cities for the work they do to support our local elected officials."


As a former member of the Hopkins City Council Rep. Youakim is very familiar with local policymaking and quality work the League of Minnesota Cities does for all Minnesotans. In selecting Legislators of Distinction, the League recognizes policymakers who are working to improve Minnesota by helping cities better serve their communities. The League of Minnesota Cities specifically highlighted Rep. Youakim’s consistent support of local decision-making authority and her thoughtful communication with local communities and advocates.


To be eligible for the award, legislators must meet criteria such as: being generally and reasonably accessible to League representatives, seeking input on issues of importance to cities, listening to League concerns and are receptive to the League providing information on issues, sponsoring and/or supporting League initiatives, speaking out on behalf of the interest of cities, and demonstrating the importance of partnership between the state and cities.


Further information about the award, as well as a full list of recipients, can be found at the League’s website.


Rep. Youakim encourages community members to contact her on any legislative issue. She can be reached by email at or phone at 651-296-9889.