Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Cheryl Youakim (DFL)

Back to profile

Release: Rep. Youakim to chair House Property and Local Tax Division

Friday, December 11, 2020


SAINT PAUL, Minn. – House Speaker Melissa Hortman recently announced the appointment of Rep. Cheryl Youakim (DFL – Hopkins) as the chair of the House Property and Local Tax Division for the upcoming biennium. Rep. Youakim released the following statement:

“I’m looking forward to this new opportunity. I served on the Property Tax and Local Government Division during my first four years in the legislature and have served the last two years on the Tax Committee. I will utilize those combined experiences, my nine years of experience on the Hopkins City Council, and your input to ensure our system is fair, equitable, and transparent.”

Rep. Youakim is currently the chair of the House Education Policy Committee.

A complete list of committees and chairs can be found here. Full membership of House committees will be announced later this month. The 2021 legislative session convenes on January 5.