Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Kurt Daudt (R)

Back to profile

RELEASE: House Republicans Unveil 2017-18 Committee Structure and Chairs

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

ST. PAUL, MN—House Speaker Kurt Daudt, R-Crown, unveiled new committee chairs for the 2017-2018 legislative session Tuesday. In total, the House will have 24 standing committees and divisions. In addition, House leadership has established three subcommittees focusing on relevant issues within larger committee areas.

“Our committee chairs are eager to get to work tackling the critical issues facing Minnesota families,” Daudt said. “Lowering health care costs, growing good-paying jobs, and reducing the tax burden on middle-class families will be shared priorities of Republicans in Saint Paul, and we look forward to working with the new Senate Republican Majority to build a Minnesota that works.”

“We’re particularly excited about subcommittees that will focus on key issues including making childcare more affordable, caring for our aging loved ones, and ensuring that key industries like mining, forestry, and tourism remain vibrant,” added Majority Leader Joyce Peppin, R-Rogers.

The 2017 Legislative Session is set to begin January 3, 2017. Committee membership and Vice Chairs will be unveiled in the coming weeks.


2017-18 Committee Name


Agriculture Finance

Rep. Rod Hamilton

Agriculture Policy

Rep. Paul Anderson

Capital Investment

Rep. Dean Urdahl

Civil Law & Data Practices Policy

Rep. Peggy Scott

Commerce & Regulatory Reform

Rep. Joe Hoppe

Education Finance

Rep. Jenifer Loon

Education Innovation Policy

Rep. Sondra Erickson

Environment & Natural Resources Policy and Finance

Rep. Dan Fabian

- Subcommittee on Mining, Forestry, & Tourism

Rep. Chris Swedzinski

Government Operations & Elections Policy

Rep. Tim O’Driscoll

HHS Finance

Rep. Matt Dean

HHS Reform

Rep. Joe Schomacker

- Subcommittee on Aging & Long-Term Care

Rep. Deb Kiel

- Subcommittee on Childcare Access & Affordability

Rep. Mary Franson

Higher Education & Career Readiness Policy and Finance

Rep. Bud Nornes

Job Growth & Energy Affordability Policy and Finance

Rep. Pat Garofalo

Legacy Funding Finance

Rep. Bob Gunther

Property Tax & Local Government Finance Division (Taxes)

Rep. Steve Drazkowski

Public Safety & Security Policy and Finance

Rep. Tony Cornish

Rules & Legislative Administration

Rep. Joyce Peppin

State Government Finance

Rep. Sarah Anderson


Rep. Greg Davids

Transportation Finance

Rep. Paul Torkelson

Transportation & Regional Governance Policy

Rep. Linda Runbeck

Veterans Affairs Division (SGF)

Rep. Bob Dettmer

Ways & Means

Rep. Jim Knoblach


Rep. Sondra Erickson